Some W:EE newbie questions...

ik33lima3
Private

Some W:EE newbie questions...

Postby ik33lima3 » Sun 7 Jun 2015 19:59

I have searched unsuccessfully for answers to these four questions so would be grateful for advice from the W:EE Community on any or all of the following, for a total newb (SP only) who has only just started playing:

1. Unlocks - as a former (dilletante!) 1/300 wargamer I find it utterly crazy that you can't get to play with all the wonderful W:EE goodies until you unlock them. Searching for some way, any way around this, I saw a post (on Steam IIRC) which said you could in effect use MP a bit like a quick mission builder/mission editor - create a private MP game. But when I tried, I seemed to start of with access only to the same 'deck' from Bruder Gegen Bruder, mission 1, which was as far as I had got at the time (haven't got much further since!!!). Maybe it's just my unfamiliarity with the creation of these deck things, but no joy. So - can or can't we use a private MP game to generate a battle on a map of your choice, with units of your choice, before you as a player have unlocked them?

2. HUD - Is there a way to turn off the 'Head Up Display' elements on the screen, individually or severally - any or all of the minimap, buttons, floating unit labels etc? I would at least like to do this for screenshots, even if it would be impractical to play without them.

3. View system - I can only seem to get the camera viewpoint to move left or right, forward or back. I would also like to be able to rotate the camera on its axis, for example for screenshots. I do understand that the forced 'over the shoulder' view inhibits 'cheating' through having a drone-eye view of the battlefield (though that ceases to work as such if you are attacking across the map from side to side, at a particular point in a mission). I see there's a 'track' button but that doesn't seem to do anything much.