New division descriptions and so on

nachocheese
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat 29 Apr 2017 05:59
Contact:

New division descriptions and so on

Postby nachocheese » Sat 29 Apr 2017 06:04

Hello everyone, iam new here and wanted to ask if anyone figured out how to add new text to the loc files of mods so far. never modded any wargame title before, so there is still much to learn for me.

User avatar
The W:AB Noob
Lieutenant General
Posts: 4505
Joined: Fri 12 Jul 2013 22:29
Location: United States, Central Time Zone
Contact:

Re: New division descriptions and so on

Postby The W:AB Noob » Sun 30 Apr 2017 00:25

nachocheese wrote:Hello everyone, iam new here and wanted to ask if anyone figured out how to add new text to the loc files of mods so far. never modded any wargame title before, so there is still much to learn for me.

Using the Wargame Modding Suite 0.4.0+, go to any .dic and click "create new hash".
W:RD Sandbox Mod 5.0 RELEASED! Click -> Image

Hulor
Sergeant
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon 10 Apr 2017 15:25
Contact:

Re: New division descriptions and so on

Postby Hulor » Tue 2 May 2017 09:38

Hi,

Otherwise you can edit localisation files under GameData/Localisation/, depending what your string is used for.

LtRico
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 8 May 2017 15:30
Contact:

Re: New division descriptions and so on

Postby LtRico » Mon 8 May 2017 15:41

Hulor wrote:Hi,

Otherwise you can edit localisation files under GameData/Localisation/, depending what your string is used for.


Hi,
regarding localisation, any .csv file I open (default is excel, tried editor and wordpad manually) is empty except for this:
"TOKEN";"COMMENT";"DO NOT TRANSLATE";CONSTRAINT;"REFTEXT";"CLASSEMENT";"ExisteDansSlayer"
Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

And while we're at it, I have some more questions on creating new divisions:
- Can we add our own division logo and commander portrait for battlegroup selection menu, and if so how?

- Is there or will there be a list of all units available so one can pick and chose when creating new divisions?

- Can I delete all the excess content in my custom mod folder (except the several mod.bat's) to keep the mod small or would that cause problems?

Any input is most welcome, many thanks!

Hulor
Sergeant
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon 10 Apr 2017 15:25
Contact:

Re: New division descriptions and so on

Postby Hulor » Tue 9 May 2017 10:04

Hi,

This line is here to let you know how to fill your csv. The "TOKEN" column is used to find the string in game, so you can fill it with any identifier you want (for example "M_LOADING" will override the "Loading..." string in loading screen), this is the one you will set in ndf files. The string which will be display is the one under "REFTEXT" column. There is a more explicit explanation in the documentation.

You can edit "EmblemTexture", "PortraitTexture" and "TypeTexture" (this one is used to describe the type of your division : infantry, para, etc...) in GameData\Gameplay\Decks\Generated\Divisions.ndf. There is already examples with our current division which retreive their texture from GameData\UI\Resources\Textures\Generated\DivisionTextures.ndf. To add a new texture you can copy/paste an existing texture, add "Modded" to the type (becoming TUIResourceTexture_CommonModded) and set the FileName to you texture (which need to be under AssetModding\). You can find a more explicit explanation on how to add a new texture in the documentation.

All unites are described in GameData\Gameplay\Gfx\Generated\UniteDescriptor.ndf, a list of all unites is available in GameData\Gameplay\Gfx\Generated\AllUnits.ndf

No, your mod needs all files to work, but you can remove data like divisions, unites, etc...

LtRico
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 8 May 2017 15:30
Contact:

Re: New division descriptions and so on

Postby LtRico » Tue 9 May 2017 12:46

That was really helpful, thank you!

Could you point out where I can find the .ndf's or files that contain the Divisions and Commanders ingame description, or is that indeed the battlegroups.csv?

EDIT:
Now when I want to generate the Mod for the first time, the screen stays black and I get an error message in the background saying
"TUIResource Texture> Invalid file name, forbidden characters. FileName = GameData:"
or
"TUIResource Texture> Invalid file name, forbidden characters. FileName = C:"

The .ndf entries look like this:
Texture_Division_Emblem_272ID is TUIResourceTexture_CommonModded
(
FileName = "C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/SteamApps/common/Steel Division/Mods/272ID/AssetsModding/272ID_Coat.png"
)

and

Texture_Division_Portrait_General_272ID is TUIResourceTexture_CommonModded
(
FileName = "C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/SteamApps/common/Steel Division/Mods/272ID/AssetsModding/272ID_General.png"
)

Same happens when the path is
GameData:/Assets/2D/Interface/UseOutGame/Division/Emblem/272ID_Coat.png


Also, I believe there is a folder missing in your file path:
Hulor wrote:You can edit "EmblemTexture", "PortraitTexture" and "TypeTexture" (this one is used to describe the type of your division : infantry, para, etc...) in GameData\Gameplay\Decks\Generated\Divisions.ndf. There is already examples with our current division which retreive their texture from GameData\Gameplay\UI\Resources\Textures\Generated\DivisionTextures.ndf. To add a new texture you can copy/paste an existing texture, add "Modded" to the type (becoming TUIResourceTexture_CommonModded) and set the FileName to you texture (which need to be under AssetModding\). You can find a more explicit explanation on how to add a new texture in the documentation.


Will pester you here when I have more questions :D

Hulor
Sergeant
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon 10 Apr 2017 15:25
Contact:

Re: New division descriptions and so on

Postby Hulor » Tue 9 May 2017 16:36

Alright, sorry I wasn't clear about the new texture, the name you set must be the relative path from you AssetModding folder, for example : "C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/SteamApps/common/Steel Division/Mods/272ID/AssetsModding/272ID_Coat.png" your filename must be "272ID_Coat.png".

All data relative to division or division's commander is described in the TDeckDivisionDescriptor located in GameData/Gameplay/Decks/Generated/Divisions.ndf.
Taking the Canadian's 3rd infantry :
PortraitHintTitleToken = 'POR_3CANT'
PortraitHintBodyToken = 'POR_3CANB'
PortraitHintExtendedToken = 'POR_3CANE'
TypeHintTitleToken = 'TYP_MECHAT'
TypeHintBodyToken = 'TYP_MECHAB'
TypeHintExtendedToken = 'TYP_MECHAE'
DescriptionHintTitleToken = 'DES_3CANT'
DescriptionHintBodyToken = 'DES_3CANB'
DescriptionHintExtendedToken = 'DES_3CANE'

Thoses are token referenced in INTERFACE_OUTGAME.csv, you can override them or create your own token in your own INTERFACE_OUTGAME.csv and reference them in these fields for your division. Just take care about your token size, it can't exceed 10 characters.

LtRico
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 8 May 2017 15:30
Contact:

Re: New division descriptions and so on

Postby LtRico » Tue 9 May 2017 19:45

Much appreciated, thanks!

Unfortunately, I cannot test the progress made so far as I get the following error when I execute the UploadMod.bat:

Spoiler : :
ASSERTION FAILED
x:\Slayer\Engine\Code\Eugen\CPP\EugCore\Sources\Assertion.cpp (404)
false
File : x:\Slayer\Engine\Code\Eugen\CPP\Core3D\GameApplication.cpp @ 292
Test : false
Crash Infos :
Error on switching to fullscreen mode.
HResult = -2005270494

"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0 __C_specific_handler
"" line 0 __FrameUnwindFilter
"" line 0 RtlCaptureContext
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0
"" line 0 BaseThreadInitThunk
"" line 0 RtlUserThreadStart


Stacked debug info:

==================
==================
Nombre total d'erreurs ignorees : 0

When I hit "Ignore once" it says "Upload Error - Mod not found."

I did follow the sequence CreateNewMod.bat -> GenerateMod.bat -> UploadMod.bat

The config.ini in the EugenSystems Mod folder is also set up as explained here and in the manual.

PanzerVillari
Specialist
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed 21 Jun 2017 23:33
Contact:

Re: New division descriptions and so on

Postby PanzerVillari » Fri 23 Jun 2017 11:48

So I have followed these instructions and I am only getting forbidden character errors.

In my DivisionTextures.ndf file I have:

Texture_Division_Emblem_29th_Infantry_Division is TUIResourceTexture_CommonModded
(
FileName = "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Steel Division\Mods\Divisions in Normandy\AssetsModding\29ID_Coat.png"
)

Sandiford
Corporal
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu 8 Dec 2016 19:54
Contact:

Re: New division descriptions and so on

Postby Sandiford » Fri 23 Jun 2017 19:56

PanzerVillari wrote:So I have followed these instructions and I am only getting forbidden character errors.

In my DivisionTextures.ndf file I have:

Texture_Division_Emblem_29th_Infantry_Division is TUIResourceTexture_CommonModded
(
FileName = "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Steel Division\Mods\Divisions in Normandy\AssetsModding\29ID_Coat.png"
)


He just said above that you have to specify the path relative to the AssetsModding folder

Alright, sorry I wasn't clear about the new texture, the name you set must be the relative path from you AssetModding folder, for example : "C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/SteamApps/common/Steel Division/Mods/272ID/AssetsModding/272ID_Coat.png" your filename must be "272ID_Coat.png".

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest