Modding Wargame: AirLand Battle

Moderators: Eugen Team, Focus Team

Guggy
General
Posts: 8645
Joined: Thu 17 Nov 2011 02:53
Location: peaceful skeleton realm
Contact:

Re: Modding Wargame: AirLand Battle

Postby Guggy » Wed 28 Aug 2013 01:49

Xeno426 wrote:Except that Arma3 is being release only half finished. One jet, one tank, no campaign.


Yep. Where'd all the money go? :(

Ramsay
Corporal
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri 19 Jul 2013 12:18
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Modding Wargame: AirLand Battle

Postby Ramsay » Wed 28 Aug 2013 01:51

Hob_Gadling wrote:Yes, it is possible (at least to an extent, I've changed stuff in the armory already).

Great news as it means that even if official mod tools never appear there might be a chance to customise or re-skin. I don't "get" the negativity in allowing people experiment or the "Mother knows best" attitude some people have. I've bought quite a few older games just to run community mods.

User avatar
Hob_Gadling
Captain
Posts: 1623
Joined: Tue 14 Feb 2012 00:15
Contact:

Re: Modding Wargame: AirLand Battle

Postby Hob_Gadling » Wed 28 Aug 2013 01:54

Xeno426 wrote:IIRC, the real reason behind no mod tools comes from simple economics; most of the tools Eugen used to make the game they don't own,


The tools needed for unit stat editing are inhouse code with 99% certainty and that's all I'm really interested in. The expensive parts are map editing (needs to be precompiled), skins (graphics tools), animations (ditto) and sounds. Unit stats are almost cleartext once you get down to the center of the onion. You could probably make a tool that takes the data from an Excel file in a week if you knew the format perfectly.

naizarak
Captain
Posts: 1626
Joined: Tue 25 Dec 2012 12:53
Contact:

Re: Modding Wargame: AirLand Battle

Postby naizarak » Wed 28 Aug 2013 01:56

Hob_Gadling wrote:
Xeno426 wrote:IIRC, the real reason behind no mod tools comes from simple economics; most of the tools Eugen used to make the game they don't own,


The tools needed for unit stat editing are inhouse code with 99% certainty and that's all I'm really interested in. The expensive parts are map editing (needs to be precompiled), skins (graphics tools), animations (ditto) and sounds. Unit stats are almost cleartext once you get down to the center of the onion. You could probably make a tool that takes the data from an Excel file in a week if you knew the format perfectly.


what's the point of stat editing if you can't make new units? then everyone will just tweak everything according to their personal preferences/bias. this is exactly what we DON'T need.

User avatar
Satire
Sergeant Major of the Army
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun 26 Feb 2012 03:43
Contact:

Re: Modding Wargame: AirLand Battle

Postby Satire » Wed 28 Aug 2013 01:57

Xeno426 wrote:Except that Arma3 is being release only half finished. One jet, one tank, no campaign.


Seriously? They are surely going to keep working on it? They are doing an alpha launch/keep working on it type deal?
Alias - Cpt.Fantastic

User avatar
Hob_Gadling
Captain
Posts: 1623
Joined: Tue 14 Feb 2012 00:15
Contact:

Re: Modding Wargame: AirLand Battle

Postby Hob_Gadling » Wed 28 Aug 2013 01:57

naizarak wrote:what's the point of stat editing if you can't make new units?


First of all, I never have to take part in another balance discussion. That alone makes it worth the trouble.

naizarak
Captain
Posts: 1626
Joined: Tue 25 Dec 2012 12:53
Contact:

Re: Modding Wargame: AirLand Battle

Postby naizarak » Wed 28 Aug 2013 01:59

Satire wrote:
Xeno426 wrote:Except that Arma3 is being release only half finished. One jet, one tank, no campaign.


Seriously? They are surely going to keep working on it? They are doing an alpha launch/keep working on it type deal?


Arma 3 was unofficially "released" several months ago in alpha form, and now is in beta. So yeah they'll technically keep working on it but I'm extremely skeptical they'll make any genuine improvements considering they've been "working" on it for years now and they have almost nothing to show for it.

User avatar
Satire
Sergeant Major of the Army
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun 26 Feb 2012 03:43
Contact:

Re: Modding Wargame: AirLand Battle

Postby Satire » Wed 28 Aug 2013 02:00

naizarak wrote:
Satire wrote:
Xeno426 wrote:Except that Arma3 is being release only half finished. One jet, one tank, no campaign.


Seriously? They are surely going to keep working on it? They are doing an alpha launch/keep working on it type deal?


Arma 3 was unofficially "released" several months ago in alpha form, and now is in beta. So yeah they'll technically keep working on it but I'm extremely skeptical they'll make any genuine improvements considering they've been "working" on it for years now and they have almost nothing to show for it.


A game engine isn't anything to show?
Last edited by Satire on Wed 28 Aug 2013 02:01, edited 1 time in total.
Alias - Cpt.Fantastic

Guggy
General
Posts: 8645
Joined: Thu 17 Nov 2011 02:53
Location: peaceful skeleton realm
Contact:

Re: Modding Wargame: AirLand Battle

Postby Guggy » Wed 28 Aug 2013 02:01

Yeah, they'll release stuff over time but its totally baffling where the money and time have gone. I lost a ton of faith in BIS as a result, as did most fellow ArmA friends I know.

solaris
Lieutenant
Posts: 1400
Joined: Mon 13 May 2013 06:10
Contact:

Re: Modding Wargame: AirLand Battle

Postby solaris » Wed 28 Aug 2013 02:01

Guggy wrote:
Xeno426 wrote:Except that Arma3 is being release only half finished. One jet, one tank, no campaign.


Yep. Where'd all the money go? :(


Into engine optimization. I played A1 and A2 at launch and I would have traded those other features ( campaign, indigenous assets) for better optimization in a heartbeat. Arma 3 runs at a playable fps on reasonable hardware out of the gate, something BI have never managed before.
Anecdotes do not count for game balance.

Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest