Release: Wargame modding suite | v0.8.0 Pre-Release

Moderators: Eugen Team, Focus Team

r2com
Private First-Class
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat 28 Jun 2014 04:02
Contact:

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite | v0.8.0 Pre-Release

Postby r2com » Sat 28 Jun 2014 04:13

Guys I have a question.

I am outraged about the RANGES of the weapon systems in this game. I am OK with unit types their icons, models, selection etc. but I WANT to fix RANGES!

1) View Range
2) Weapons range

Can I use this tool to do that, and then compile MOD and have for example several interested players to be able to play it online?

And of course so that it doesnt count as cheating or stuff (I am not going to play with retarded "normal" game and its cropped ranges)

Any thoughts?

User avatar
TheMarraMan
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 513
Joined: Tue 3 Dec 2013 09:11
Location: IN USA
Contact:

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite | v0.8.0 Pre-Release

Postby TheMarraMan » Fri 4 Jul 2014 00:59

When I download this, my Norton security removes it because it thinks the file can't be trusted. What a shame.

User avatar
The W:AB Noob
Lieutenant General
Posts: 4538
Joined: Fri 12 Jul 2013 22:29
Location: United States, Central Time Zone
Contact:

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite | v0.8.0 Pre-Release

Postby The W:AB Noob » Fri 4 Jul 2014 17:18

r2com wrote:Guys I have a question.

I am outraged about the RANGES of the weapon systems in this game. I am OK with unit types their icons, models, selection etc. but I WANT to fix RANGES!

1) View Range
2) Weapons range

Can I use this tool to do that, and then compile MOD and have for example several interested players to be able to play it online?

And of course so that it doesnt count as cheating or stuff (I am not going to play with retarded "normal" game and its cropped ranges)

Any thoughts?

I thought that too.
You can fix ranges with this tool, but it will take a very very long time, and the range numbers are only synthetic. In ALB, there was a box called MeterRangeMultiplier or something like that, which made it real easy, but in WRD, we have not found it yet.
W:RD Sandbox Mod 5.4.2, the Final and Ultimate Patch Click -> Image

JaM
Private First-Class
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 7 Jul 2014 20:44
Contact:

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite | v0.8.0 Pre-Release

Postby JaM » Sat 12 Jul 2014 12:18

guys, i have a small problem with the suite. Whenever i make my changes and save them, sometimes some of these changes are reverted back to original values, but not all. Is there anything i need to be careful about to prevent this from happening? (i'm usually altering Gun accuracy)

User avatar
The W:AB Noob
Lieutenant General
Posts: 4538
Joined: Fri 12 Jul 2013 22:29
Location: United States, Central Time Zone
Contact:

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite | v0.8.0 Pre-Release

Postby The W:AB Noob » Sun 13 Jul 2014 00:29

One thing, close the Suite and restart the computer. If it still doesn't work...
Make sure you are always editing the right file. If it still doesn't work...
I like to only use one window per file (aka, not opening the everything.ndfbin and globals.ndfbin from the same NDF_Win.dat at the same time). If it still doesn't work...
You're in some serious trouble.
W:RD Sandbox Mod 5.4.2, the Final and Ultimate Patch Click -> Image

JaM
Private First-Class
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 7 Jul 2014 20:44
Contact:

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite | v0.8.0 Pre-Release

Postby JaM » Mon 14 Jul 2014 09:20

Ok, i figured it out, it was my mistake, i didnt realize hit chances are defined this way... i changed the values, but definitions were applied for various weapons, which caused my problem.

On another topic, i would like to edit infantry weapons, but kinda cannot find what should i do. Is there any way how to identify which weapon is what?

User avatar
The W:AB Noob
Lieutenant General
Posts: 4538
Joined: Fri 12 Jul 2013 22:29
Location: United States, Central Time Zone
Contact:

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite | v0.8.0 Pre-Release

Postby The W:AB Noob » Fri 18 Jul 2014 22:50

JaM wrote:Ok, i figured it out, it was my mistake, i didnt realize hit chances are defined this way... i changed the values, but definitions were applied for various weapons, which caused my problem.

On another topic, i would like to edit infantry weapons, but kinda cannot find what should i do. Is there any way how to identify which weapon is what?

Pretty much just keep double-clicking on the boxes that say "Object Reference"
W:RD Sandbox Mod 5.4.2, the Final and Ultimate Patch Click -> Image

Ivan
Corporal
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue 13 Aug 2013 13:08
Contact:

I can not seem to find a working link!

Postby Ivan » Thu 21 Aug 2014 00:14

Hi , i am very interested in just tinkering around with unit ranges etc, I used to do this on C&C Generals with the INI files.

Problem is I can not down load the modding suite anywhere?

Any tips?

User avatar
The W:AB Noob
Lieutenant General
Posts: 4538
Joined: Fri 12 Jul 2013 22:29
Location: United States, Central Time Zone
Contact:

Re: I can not seem to find a working link!

Postby The W:AB Noob » Fri 22 Aug 2014 05:18

Ivan wrote:Hi , i am very interested in just tinkering around with unit ranges etc, I used to do this on C&C Generals with the INI files.

Problem is I can not down load the modding suite anywhere?

Any tips?

"Load" the modding suite? What do you mean by that? Download? Run?
Also, very few game developers have even a similar game engine to each other, and there are no such things as INI files in Wargame.
W:RD Sandbox Mod 5.4.2, the Final and Ultimate Patch Click -> Image

User avatar
Shifu
Lieutenant General
Posts: 4104
Joined: Wed 13 Jul 2011 16:06
Location: :noitacoL
Contact:

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite | v0.8.0 Pre-Release

Postby Shifu » Fri 22 Aug 2014 14:58

I'm currently running short on time. Hence, it takes some time until I respond. In urgent cases, consider contacting another mod.
Forum rules | A Forum's guide. | Tech Support Posting instructions & Tech FAQ

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest