Page 1 of 29

Release: Wargame modding suite | v0.8.0 Pre-Release

Posted: Mon 23 Sep 2013 15:27
by enohka
Hello community,

some of you guys might already heard about it, or seen any of our testing change screenshots.

I spent some time on creating a modding suite for Wargame: Airland Battle and I think its time to share it with you guys.

  • Development state: BETA
  • Current pub version:v0.8.0

So before you download and start the software, I kindly ask you guys to RTFM. Please read the manual, the requirements are listed in there. Nothing complicated.

There is no:
  • Map editor
  • Model editing
in yet. Though, you can change pretty much anything else imaginable in the game with it.

I'm open for all questions in here and I'm sure my god given helpers and beta testers are as well. Though: Please make sure, that your question in not already covered by the documentation and/or the tutorial.


Modding suite bug tracker

Modding suite documantation

DM's awesome tutorial

Darkmil's awesome quick guides

Download the Modding suite

GitHub Repository (Source code)

This software is released under the GNU GPL license

Downloads so far: over 2000!

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite

Posted: Mon 23 Sep 2013 15:44
by FleF[FFR]
Awesome!

And this awesomeness was even greater when I saw DM typing the tutorial in live!!!!

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite

Posted: Mon 23 Sep 2013 15:52
by D-M
Oh yeah i tend to forget about this. ^^

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite

Posted: Mon 23 Sep 2013 15:58
by spyker92
So what are the specifics of the inability to model / add new units? Is it because it's impossible just to use the same model for multiple units or?

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite

Posted: Mon 23 Sep 2013 16:01
by enohka
spyker92 wrote:So what are the specifics of the inability to model / add new units? Is it because it's impossible just to use the same model for multiple units or?



More the fact that i didn't had the time to implement it yet. I'm pretty certain that it will be possible soon.

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite

Posted: Mon 23 Sep 2013 16:03
by Darkmil
spyker92 wrote:So what are the specifics of the inability to model / add new units? Is it because it's impossible just to use the same model for multiple units or?

I think that for the time being it's theoricaly doable (not with the mod tool, don't hope anything), but it's hard to implement in the tool and moreover it's highly complex maneouvre.
The simple fact of creating a new class, a weapon for instance, is impossible in the tool, but wait.

As an addition to D-M's tuto I'm making table with all Armor Value Classes, AP Value Map. it will be posted this week-end.

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite

Posted: Mon 23 Sep 2013 16:08
by Gronank
Is there any issue tracker/road map anywhere? There should be if there's not.

Btw, if anyone figures out what kind of a sound file .ess is, there is nothing to stop anyone from building a community acknow mod.

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite

Posted: Mon 23 Sep 2013 16:08
by D-M
Now if we begin to confuse classes and instances, we are in deep . ^^

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite

Posted: Mon 23 Sep 2013 16:12
by Gronank
D-M wrote:Now if we begin to confuse classes and instances, we are in deep . ^^

Indeed, anyone who does not figure this out will not be understood and wont understand anything.

Re: Release: Wargame modding suite

Posted: Mon 23 Sep 2013 16:17
by D-M
Maybe we should say "Tables" and "Lines" instead ?