Reducing the Game-Speed

Moderators: Eugen Team, Focus Team

gax2013
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2013 15:46
Contact:

Reducing the Game-Speed

Postby gax2013 » Tue 19 Nov 2013 15:54

Is it possible to mod this, and if so, how?

Thanks

User avatar
KeyLord
Command Sergeant Major
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu 2 May 2013 13:33
Contact:

Re: Reducing the Game-Speed

Postby KeyLord » Sat 23 Nov 2013 06:47

I have been experimenting, and I have seen how it is possible to decrease lots of speeds, such as unit speeds, RoF's, etc. Decreasing the speed may result in weird network issues, but it is possible to decrease things such as road speed which may deliver the same effect.

User avatar
Soundwolf776
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 2341
Joined: Thu 13 Sep 2012 11:52
Contact:

Re: Reducing the Game-Speed

Postby Soundwolf776 » Sat 23 Nov 2013 07:38

and I have seen how it is possible to decrease lots of speeds, such as unit speeds, RoF's, etc.

At once, with some specific value? Or just by going through individual unit speeds, ROF, etc?

MK.82
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun 28 Apr 2013 16:31
Contact:

Re: Reducing the Game-Speed

Postby MK.82 » Thu 28 Nov 2013 11:00

So how do you change speed:

1) Per unit
2) Globally

What does it mean when there is "Maxspeed" with value "3640" and then there is "SpeedBonusOnRoad" what has valua "0,5714286"?

Of course modders could go and compare individual units with similar stats, but if some already know these then don't hold back with your information but share it and help the community :)

User avatar
Soundwolf776
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 2341
Joined: Thu 13 Sep 2012 11:52
Contact:

Re: Reducing the Game-Speed

Postby Soundwolf776 » Thu 28 Nov 2013 12:13

1) Per unit

Yes. Can't change it globally - you can tweak the terrain modifiers in TWargameTerrain so that units are slowed down everywhere, but there is no terrain modifier for roads, so they'll still boomzoom thorugh highways with lightning speed. And then, with lower speeds you'll get operational range problems, as fuel consumption is computed per second, not per meter. Any way, individual tweaks through 800 units. Enjoy.

Maxspeed is an offroad speed, multiplied by 52 or something like that, I think.

Road bonus is simply a bonus for movement on the road. In the stated example, (3640/52) * (1+0,5714286) should give you either 110 or 150 km/h.

MK.82
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun 28 Apr 2013 16:31
Contact:

Re: Reducing the Game-Speed

Postby MK.82 » Thu 28 Nov 2013 18:25

Soundwolf776 wrote:. Any way, individual tweaks through 800 units. Enjoy.


Okay, 800 units is not so hard to go trough, just time consuming. Could be done in few evenings (and lots of beer, but not too much). The MOD editor would need a some polishing and adjustments (like tabs instead individual windows for every type) and of course if Eugen would help D-M to tweak the editor so modder doesn't need to go trough so much about different parts but could get a "drop-list" of similar UI than armory it would make tweaking stuff much easier.

Maxspeed is an offroad speed, multiplied by 52 or something like that, I think.

Road bonus is simply a bonus for movement on the road. In the stated example, (3640/52) * (1+0,5714286) should give you either 110 or 150 km/h.


Okay. That explains it better. Actually I am considering that it is just the better that road speeds are maintained as they are now, adding higher critical/stun change for units what are moving and slow down the off-road speeds a littlebit. Then roads importance to move will be much important instead just driving trough every possible position.

Question is: If the global off-road speed is changed, does it show up in units starts in armory as changed? (This question I could check myself but for future modders it is better if they can find the answer using search tool)

User avatar
Soundwolf776
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 2341
Joined: Thu 13 Sep 2012 11:52
Contact:

Re: Reducing the Game-Speed

Postby Soundwolf776 » Thu 28 Nov 2013 18:53

If the global off-road speed is changed, does it show up in units starts in armory as changed?

No, "global" changes mean just tweaking the terrain modifiers - they won't affect unit stats in any way, just as now armory doesn't display the nerf to speed caused by going through a forest.

Could be done in few evenings (and lots of beer, but not too much)

That's a good idea, really. 8-) Despite all my efforts, seems like I can't avoid going through 800 units once, and Carlsberg should help me a lot in that.

MK.82
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun 28 Apr 2013 16:31
Contact:

Re: Reducing the Game-Speed

Postby MK.82 » Thu 28 Nov 2013 19:11

Soundwolf776 wrote:
Could be done in few evenings (and lots of beer, but not too much)

That's a good idea, really. 8-) Despite all my efforts, seems like I can't avoid going through 800 units once, and Carlsberg should help me a lot in that.


On tasks like going trough 880 units it is sad that the database file can not merged with others. Would make community efforts easier when multiple editors could allocate different tasks and then finally just merge changes and maintain them.
If just it would be possible get database in a nice pure text form with good syntax so it could be edited with command line tools and manage project with a GIT.

But no I am going to try that global speed as you guided. Thanks for that. :)

MK.82
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun 28 Apr 2013 16:31
Contact:

Re: Reducing the Game-Speed

Postby MK.82 » Thu 28 Nov 2013 20:44

Soundwolf776 wrote:Maxspeed is an offroad speed, multiplied by 52 or something like that, I think.

Road bonus is simply a bonus for movement on the road. In the stated example, (3640/52) * (1+0,5714286) should give you either 110 or 150 km/h.


The Class 218 "TWargameTerrain" has property "OneMeterInGameUnits" what is 215. So speed and distance could calculated by that as well (meters per second for speed and distance) or is that 52 the "universal multiplier"?

User avatar
Soundwolf776
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 2341
Joined: Thu 13 Sep 2012 11:52
Contact:

Re: Reducing the Game-Speed

Postby Soundwolf776 » Thu 28 Nov 2013 21:21

I don't remember what it does (if it does something at all :? ).

Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests