[Solved] Dedicated server, virtual box

Hynsei_A.I.
Corporal
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu 30 Jan 2014 23:32
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server, virtual box

Postby Hynsei_A.I. » Sun 2 Feb 2014 19:27

Sorry for the slow response. Was having tea.

I have tried to access the web page via my ip but for some reason I cannot connect to it, its strange.

Do you know of an alternate way other then the config page to do it?

bin.zwieda
Second-Lieutenant
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed 19 Sep 2012 23:47
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server, virtual box

Postby bin.zwieda » Sun 2 Feb 2014 19:35

those brits and their tea rituals...
;)

nope, the only way to do it is via that step.

your router is some kind of security.
it protects you from the evil outside.
if you don´t instruct it, who will be the good ones, he can´t tell...

can you use a network cable instead of WIFI?

edit: did you see my edits on the previous post, too?

Hynsei_A.I.
Corporal
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu 30 Jan 2014 23:32
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server, virtual box

Postby Hynsei_A.I. » Sun 2 Feb 2014 19:36

I am using a network cable.

That's not the problem is it?
:?

Yeah I did see the edits.
:D

bin.zwieda
Second-Lieutenant
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed 19 Sep 2012 23:47
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server, virtual box

Postby bin.zwieda » Sun 2 Feb 2014 19:41

http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/VirginMedia/Netgear_VMDG485/defaultguide.htm

as i have some other router at home, i just can tell how it´s supposed to look.

192.168.0.1 should lead you to the login page, asking for the password...
screenshot of the page can be seen in the upper link, too

does this look like it for you?

Hynsei_A.I.
Corporal
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu 30 Jan 2014 23:32
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server, virtual box

Postby Hynsei_A.I. » Sun 2 Feb 2014 19:44

No, it brings me to a page that sais
"The webpage cannot be found

HTTP 404


Most likely causes:
•There might be a typing error in the address.
•If you clicked on a link, it may be out of date."

bin.zwieda
Second-Lieutenant
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed 19 Sep 2012 23:47
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server, virtual box

Postby bin.zwieda » Sun 2 Feb 2014 19:47

if you are unsure about the internal ip adress of your router:

open a command shell via
windows button,
then type the following in the little text field
cmd
then ENTER

a black box appears, klick into itm type
ipconfig
then ENTER

it will display some text...
look for some thing like

ipv4 adress (this is the ip of your pc)
standardgateway (this will be the adress of your router)

bin.zwieda
Second-Lieutenant
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed 19 Sep 2012 23:47
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server, virtual box

Postby bin.zwieda » Sun 2 Feb 2014 19:48

finally: open the browser and do
http://ip-of-your-defaultgateway (use your ip here)

edit: off for dinner now...

Hynsei_A.I.
Corporal
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu 30 Jan 2014 23:32
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server, virtual box

Postby Hynsei_A.I. » Sun 2 Feb 2014 20:26

Ok, I did that, my IP is 192.168.0.1 and it still sais:

"The webpage cannot be found

HTTP 404


Most likely causes:
•There might be a typing error in the address.
•If you clicked on a link, it may be out of date."

I know this is my corret IP address but I don't know what the problem is.

bin.zwieda
Second-Lieutenant
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed 19 Sep 2012 23:47
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server, virtual box

Postby bin.zwieda » Sun 2 Feb 2014 21:13

who is 192.168.0.1 ?

your pc?
or your router?

you must connect to the ip of the router (just to be sure).

ok, if you really try to connect to the proper ip and this 404 occurs, there is something completely strange.

maybe: try to power down your router (unplug all cables, too) for 10 minutes.
then plug it in again and wait for 5 minutes to fully reboot.

finally, try once more.

if you still can´t see the mentioned login screen, we are at a full stop then.

next step would be to call the ISP hotline (probably tomorrow) and tell them:

"you need to configure your router (add the exact name and serial to it) but can´t access the configuration interface at all."

they should be able to logi your router from the web and check, if they see something. maybe they can also update you to the latest firmware at that stage, too.

if they wanna know, what you try to do, tell them you need to configure a port forwarding setting for a computergame.

maybe better NOT tell them, you wanna run a server, bacause some ISPs get nervous, when they hear that.
;)

it´s impossible to setup the setting, as long as you cant access your routers config menue.

in the meantime: did you successfully setup the ip adress of your VM yet?
if so, what is it´s IP?

this also needs to be done, to direct the portforwarding to the proper adress!

you can NOT use the same ip adress for your gaming pc and your VM!
(your network must be able to see both of them under different IP adresses)


edit: maybe, the webinterface to configure routers is deactivated by the ISP, to avoid customers to change any settings. also ask them, if this is the case, to be sure...

Hynsei_A.I.
Corporal
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu 30 Jan 2014 23:32
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server, virtual box

Postby Hynsei_A.I. » Sun 2 Feb 2014 21:37

Ok right, I reset the router a second time, much to both my sisters annoyance. ;)
Ive got it in and I've made a port available.

Edit: Right the server is running, but it is not showing up in wargame. I'm assuming this is another error I have made?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest