[Solved][Mac] Game won't start

Warhead
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed 27 Feb 2013 12:16
Contact:

[Solved][Mac] Game won't start

Postby Warhead » Thu 12 Jun 2014 16:55

So I bought the Mac version of RD today. Forgetting how it was with EE, ALB, assuming you'd have learnt your lesson Eugen.

But no. It's worse than it was - the game wont' even start.

So tell me Eugen, what am I to do with my nice new 40€ game that won't play?
Last edited by Shifu on Sun 15 Jun 2014 20:27, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Moved to technical forum & re-titled to be more specific.

User avatar
[EUG]MadMat
More than 10 000 messages. Soldier you are the leader of all armies!
Posts: 15321
Joined: Thu 30 Jun 2011 13:31
Location: Paris, France.
Contact:

Re: Mac version released, broken. Eugen, wtf?

Postby [EUG]MadMat » Thu 12 Jun 2014 17:12

Is your OS 10.7 or further?

Minimum:
OS: MAC OS X 10.7
Processor: INTEL CORE 2 DUO 2.4 GHZ
Memory: 2048 MB RAM
Graphics: 256 MB ATI RADEON HD 4670/NVIDIA GEFORCE GT120/320M OR HIGHER
Network: Broadband Internet connection
Hard Drive: 20 GB available space
Additional Notes: INTERNET CONNECTION REQUIRED FOR ACTIVATION AND ONLINE GAMING

Warhead
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed 27 Feb 2013 12:16
Contact:

Re: Mac version released, broken. Eugen, wtf?

Postby Warhead » Thu 12 Jun 2014 17:27

yeah of course, or I wouldnt have bought it.

10.7.5
2.4GhHz intel cores 2 Duo
Memory 4GB
NVIDIA GeForce 320M 256 MB

User avatar
kirienzo
Command Sergeant Major
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed 2 Apr 2014 13:23
Contact:

Re: [Mac] Game won't start

Postby kirienzo » Thu 12 Jun 2014 17:52

Hi,
We will have to do some verification :
- Check that the executable of the game is here :
- Open the Terminal
- Open the game folder
- Check if the executable file is here, type "ls"
- type "ls -la wargame3" to verify you have the right to execute the file

- Give us your full system informations :
- Open the Terminal
- type "system_profiler -detailLevel full > my_mac_info.txt" (without the " of course)

Warhead
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed 27 Feb 2013 12:16
Contact:

Re: [Mac] Game won't start

Postby Warhead » Thu 12 Jun 2014 19:01

I don't understand.
I can open Terminal. But how do I open the game folder?
And where do you want me to type 'Is' - in terminal or game folder?
And where do you want me to type "ls -la wargame3" - in terminal or game folder?

User avatar
Shifu
Lieutenant General
Posts: 4263
Joined: Wed 13 Jul 2011 16:06
Contact:

Re: [Mac] Game won't start

Postby Shifu » Thu 12 Jun 2014 19:14

You'll have to navigate to the folder by using "cd Path" (change directory, Path is the path were the game folder is located).
Then type ls (in the terminal) and follow the procedure given above.

Warhead
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed 27 Feb 2013 12:16
Contact:

Re: [Mac] Game won't start

Postby Warhead » Thu 12 Jun 2014 19:35

I'm not a computer programmer.
Please speak to me in a language I understand.

User avatar
trineroks
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 703
Joined: Sat 22 Mar 2014 04:16
Contact:

Re: [Mac] Game won't start

Postby trineroks » Thu 12 Jun 2014 19:46

Once you've opened terminal, you want to navigate to your game folder.

So if your game folder is in the following made-up directory: /usr/something/something/RedDragon

Then you would type in your terminal window "cd /usr/something/something/RedDragon"

This changes your directory to your game folder. Once you've changed directory, type "ls -la wargame3" in the terminal. This will output access permissions and other valuable information.
Image

User avatar
Shifu
Lieutenant General
Posts: 4263
Joined: Wed 13 Jul 2011 16:06
Contact:

Re: [Mac] Game won't start

Postby Shifu » Thu 12 Jun 2014 20:05

First on all, I'm not into Mac, but let me give it a try - Everything I want you to write into the terminal will be in code tags:

Code: Select all

Like that!


Let's go:

1. Open the terminal


2. Navigate to the game folder by typing:

Code: Select all

cd ~/Library/Application Support/Steam/SteamApps/common/Wargame Red Dragon
(Not sure about the path, quick google gave me that - if it doesn't work, let me know)


3. Look for the executable - look for "wargame3.exe". Maybe it has a different color. To do that, type:

Code: Select all

ls -al
Don't get confused by the other information displayed - just look on the left side of every line. Do you see "wargame3"?


4. Now, let's see if you have the right to run the game. First, let's see the username and your group (should be staff). Type

Code: Select all

id

This should return your user name, user ID, group name and group ID. You should see your account name there, some number, "staff" and again some number, correct?

Now, you remember when you've found wargame3.exe in step 3:
Take a look at the left side of the line in which you can read "wargame3": There should be some characters like "drwxr-xr-x" - please check if you see an "x" - if yes, how many? If you see 3, you should be fine - if anything else, please post the character sequence.
Right of those characters, do you see your username? And do you see right of your username "staff"?

Warhead
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed 27 Feb 2013 12:16
Contact:

Re: [Mac] Game won't start

Postby Warhead » Thu 12 Jun 2014 20:39

AFter the first step I get this:
"No such file or directory"

However, I can open Wargame3 executable file directly from Finder.
If I then double click to open the EXE file, I get this message opening in terminal: Illegal instruction: 4
logout

Is that useful?

If not, please talk me through like I'm 5 years old.

Return to “Tech Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests