Modding Issues and Questions

User avatar
libbmaster
Lieutenant
Posts: 1256
Joined: Sun 2 Jun 2013 00:00
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby libbmaster » Fri 20 Sep 2019 07:02

Sireyn wrote:Since you are converting an unarmed unit into an armed one,


Ah, but the command HUMVEE has a .50 cal already! I trust that will allow me to skip those steps?

User avatar
Sireyn
Sergeant Major
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat 5 Jan 2013 06:57
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby Sireyn » Fri 20 Sep 2019 10:11

libbmaster wrote:
Sireyn wrote:Since you are converting an unarmed unit into an armed one,


Ah, but the command HUMVEE has a .50 cal already! I trust that will allow me to skip those steps?


Yes, sorry. I was replying based on memory and was thinking it was like the Japanese command humvee.

User avatar
libbmaster
Lieutenant
Posts: 1256
Joined: Sun 2 Jun 2013 00:00
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby libbmaster » Sat 21 Sep 2019 15:53

Sireyn wrote:
Yes, sorry. I was replying based on memory and was thinking it was like the Japanese command humvee.


No problem, it worked like a charm!

However, the CMD HUMVEE now uses the Recon unit voice effects instead of the Command unit voice effects (I'm pretty sure it didn't before?) - where would I go to change what audio the unit plays when clicked on?

User avatar
Sireyn
Sergeant Major
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat 5 Jan 2013 06:57
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby Sireyn » Sat 21 Sep 2019 23:20

libbmaster wrote:No problem, it worked like a charm!

However, the CMD HUMVEE now uses the Recon unit voice effects instead of the Command unit voice effects (I'm pretty sure it didn't before?) - where would I go to change what audio the unit plays when clicked on?


On the TUniteAuSol, AcknowUnitType and TypeForAcknow. I think there is one more reference buried somewhere, but I can't remember if it's important.

User avatar
libbmaster
Lieutenant
Posts: 1256
Joined: Sun 2 Jun 2013 00:00
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby libbmaster » Tue 24 Sep 2019 22:58

Sireyn wrote:On the TUniteAuSol, AcknowUnitType and TypeForAcknow. I think there is one more reference buried somewhere, but I can't remember if it's important.


Actually, I only had to change the AcknowUnitType to make it work! Thank you much.

EDIT: I have a new question. When I change a unit's scanner configuration module, the optics value on its unit card does not change. Are these values not linked? And how would I change the stat displayed on the unit card?

EDIT 2: Ah hell, I was looking at the wrong unit! It worked fine! D'oh! :lol:

User avatar
libbmaster
Lieutenant
Posts: 1256
Joined: Sun 2 Jun 2013 00:00
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby libbmaster » Thu 26 Sep 2019 20:49

Sireyn wrote:On the TUniteAuSol, AcknowUnitType and TypeForAcknow. I think there is one more reference buried somewhere, but I can't remember if it's important.


Okay, I've got a new question - I've added an M2 .50 to the avenger, but it displays no Gfx when firing. I copied the Tmountedweapondiscriptor from another unit added it to the same Tturret as the stingers - what other values might I have missed?

User avatar
Sireyn
Sergeant Major
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat 5 Jan 2013 06:57
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby Sireyn » Thu 26 Sep 2019 21:56

libbmaster wrote:Okay, I've got a new question - I've added an M2 .50 to the avenger, but it displays no Gfx when firing. I copied the Tmountedweapondiscriptor from another unit added it to the same Tturret as the stingers - what other values might I have missed


Special effects are located in the ApparenceModel module for vehicles and the GroupeCombat module for infantry. Within the ApparenceModel, under Actions, you will see TCompositeHappening for weapons that have a sound effect and a projectile. TSoundHappening only contains a sound and normally links to missiles, because missiles normally generate their own model out of the TAmmunition.

1. Find a unit with the effects and sounds that you want

2. Navigate to that unit's Actions list in its ApparenceModel module and note the relevant TCompositeHappening
- Check the TCompositeHappening > TFiringHappening and make sure it points to TargetPositionTurret1 and FlyingTimeAndHit1
- If it points to a different position, you will need to create a duplicate of this effect and edit that
Spoiler : :
Image

3. Navigate to the Actions list in the Avenger's ApparenceModel module

4. Add your desired TCompositeHappening reference, making sure to input the map correctly (List / ObjectReference)
Spoiler : :
Image

5. Open the reference you just added and fill in the blank popup with 3 Tablestrings
Spoiler : :
Image
- weapon_effet_tag# (must match the effet_tag in the WeaponManager)
- tir / tir_c (meaning "shot" and "shot_continuous". I think this determines if the effect plays on repeat or only once per firing)
- 1 (should increase only if you create exact duplicates of an effect for the same weapon, like an aircraft with multiple cannons)

6. Open the WeaponManager, then open the turret. Add the TargetPosition and FlyingTimeAndHit to match the TCompositeHappening
Spoiler : :
Image


Good luck! (Also, it uses a M3P .50cal, which is different from the M2)

3xANikolai
Specialist
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat 20 Jul 2019 20:58
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby 3xANikolai » Fri 4 Oct 2019 14:14

1. So after realising that a new patch was released (Issues with focus), my mod has become outdated, however in saying that, what is the best way to update my mod? Start on the new updated version or work with the existing mod and update for what was changed?

2. If I was to change for example Tiran 5 Blazer (Israel Recon Tank) into a Tank, are these the following instances I would only need to change:

-Factory
-TypeForAcknow
-TypeUnit (Module)
-CompanyUnit (Module)
- IAStratmodule (Module)
- Other unit specs like: ZZ.Win (Name) Scanner + ScannerConfiguration (Module) and Visibilty (Module)

I know that within these folders we have further stuff that needs to be changed for example like IAStrat and Labels. If there is more instances to change or if I have done any wrong changes, it would be great to hear from someone.

User avatar
libbmaster
Lieutenant
Posts: 1256
Joined: Sun 2 Jun 2013 00:00
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby libbmaster » Sat 5 Oct 2019 23:15

Sireyn wrote:Good luck! (Also, it uses a M3P .50cal, which is different from the M2)


I am aware - I'll have to create the M3P in game later!

I have another question: the ash and shadows mod claims that they changed how AP damage is calculated, but the mod authors haven't gotten back to me. Do you know how they would have gone about doing that? Can you really change the damage calculation for AP attacks? And can you also change other special rules for AP weapons, like [HEAT] always dealing at least 1 damage to targets or [KE] increasing its damage with range?

User avatar
libbmaster
Lieutenant
Posts: 1256
Joined: Sun 2 Jun 2013 00:00
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby libbmaster » Sat 5 Oct 2019 23:21

3xANikolai wrote:2. If I was to change for example Tiran 5 Blazer (Israel Recon Tank) into a Tank, are these the following instances I would only need to change:

-Factory
-TypeForAcknow
-TypeUnit (Module)
-CompanyUnit (Module)
- IAStratmodule (Module)
- Other unit specs like: ZZ.Win (Name) Scanner + ScannerConfiguration (Module) and Visibilty (Module)

I know that within these folders we have further stuff that needs to be changed for example like IAStrat and Labels. If there is more instances to change or if I have done any wrong changes, it would be great to hear from someone.


I was not aware that the IAStrat and CompanyUnit Modules need to be changed unless you were making a non-transport into a transport, or a ground unit into a flying one.

At least, I've had no issues moving units between categories by just changing their "factory" number.

Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests