[RD] Wargame Mod Installer

User avatar
Vasto
Second-Lieutenant
Posts: 898
Joined: Sat 1 Jun 2013 19:26
Contact:

[RD] Wargame Mod Installer

Postby Vasto » Sat 19 Apr 2014 11:29

Hello everybody,

I decided to make here a new topic for the Wargame Mod Installer since the old modding section is not visited anymore, and some important updates could be missed.

About this software:
The Wargame Mod Installer allows an easy, automated and safe distribution of moded files. Besides some simple features like a copy-pasting files it provides also a more specialized functionality, like a replacing certain content files stored inside the game's .dat files. This feature is probable especially valuable for all texture moders, since the distribution of premade .dat files with moded textures is not an easy task, as these texture storing .dat files are really weighty (even up to 3.6 GB). Because the installer provide a way to replace a desired portion of .dat file, there is no need to deploy whole .dat files, but just those content files which are going to be changed. The Installer features also some functionality which allows to keep compatibility between different texture mods, which otherwise is very hard to achieve. More information you can find in the manual.


Image


Before you start, I highly recommend to read the manual, or at least skip to the Quick Start section of it.

Download the Wargame Mod Installer v1.0.0.35

Manual

Source code


Important:
The Wargame Mod Installer requires the .NET Framework 4.5 to run.

The Wargame Mod Installer is released under the GNU GPL license

I also want to thanks enohka for his incredible work on making this game modable and all other people involved in the process.
Last edited by Vasto on Sun 21 Sep 2014 17:15, edited 6 times in total.
Image

User avatar
Vasto
Second-Lieutenant
Posts: 898
Joined: Sat 1 Jun 2013 19:26
Contact:

Re: [RD] Wargame Mod Installer

Postby Vasto » Sat 19 Apr 2014 11:29

Update 1.0.0.13:

This version adds a support for splitting installation into components which are selectable to install by the user. So basically, now is possible to do things like this:

Image

More to read in the manual.
Image

User avatar
The W:AB Noob
Lieutenant General
Posts: 4564
Joined: Fri 12 Jul 2013 22:29
Location: United States, Central Time Zone
Contact:

Re: [RD] Wargame Mod Installer

Postby The W:AB Noob » Sat 19 Apr 2014 17:30

Yay! The re-texture community thanks you.
Image
W:RD Sandbox Mod 5.4.2, the Final and Ultimate Patch Click -> Image

User avatar
Darkmil
Brigadier
Posts: 3023
Joined: Mon 29 Oct 2012 15:17
Location: Lyon
Contact:

Re: [RD] Wargame Mod Installer

Postby Darkmil » Sat 19 Apr 2014 23:15

Vasto wrote:Update 1.0.0.13:

This version adds a support for splitting installation into components which are selectable to install by the user. So basically, now is possible to do things like this:

Image

More to read in the manual.


AWESOME !!!!
Image

londonsmee
Sergeant
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon 16 Apr 2012 13:44
Contact:

Re: [RD] Wargame Mod Installer

Postby londonsmee » Sun 20 Apr 2014 05:37

Now that looks cool will be looking into that. Well played

ROOOOOOcking installer mate, thanks for the hard work. Changed my RD skins to it.

RaduM
Warrant Officer
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue 22 May 2012 16:54
Contact:

Re: [RD] Wargame Mod Installer

Postby RaduM » Tue 22 Apr 2014 13:01

Thank you for putting in the effort, Vasto. This tool makes installing mods a snap. :)
REALISM 1980 Mod - OUT NOW - Want some Authentic Gameplay to go with that Authentic Armory ?

User avatar
Vasto
Second-Lieutenant
Posts: 898
Joined: Sat 1 Jun 2013 19:26
Contact:

Re: [RD] Wargame Mod Installer

Postby Vasto » Sun 27 Apr 2014 14:19

Update 1.0.0.14

Some bug fixes related the CopyModFile and CopyGameFile commands.
Image

londonsmee
Sergeant
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon 16 Apr 2012 13:44
Contact:

Re: [RD] Wargame Mod Installer

Postby londonsmee » Sun 27 Apr 2014 18:58

nice one :}

User avatar
Vasto
Second-Lieutenant
Posts: 898
Joined: Sat 1 Jun 2013 19:26
Contact:

Re: [RD] Wargame Mod Installer

Postby Vasto » Fri 2 May 2014 16:23

Update 1.0.0.15

Added a command allowing to alter the dictionry file (.dic) entries.

Hopefully this will allow the name changing mods to be easily reinstalled after each update, since the command identifies entries to modify basing on their hash values. Those seem to not change between updates, so now instead of tedious reapplying names by hand with each patch, it should be just possible to update the path of patched file and easily reapply all custom values with the installer.

Image


Detailed description and usage of the new command is availalbe in the manual.


And of course, big credits to enohka for the .dic files reading/writing code.
Image

User avatar
COMThing
Sergeant Major of the Army
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat 7 Apr 2012 11:54
Location: NZ
Contact:

Re: [RD] Wargame Mod Installer

Postby COMThing » Sun 6 Jul 2014 13:29

Hey, is there anything other than Net Framework 4.5 required to run the installer?
It has been a while since I last updated my skin pack and the installer just won't start, even for downloaded packs. As far as I'm aware my computer hasn't changed it's configuration since I last updated my pack, my anti virus (Norton) doesn't say anything and I have the skin pack excluded from being deleted/interupted. Reinstalling Net Framework doesn't help either :?

Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests