[Outdated] Wargame modding suite | v0.8.2 Pre-Release

naizarak
Captain
Posts: 1626
Joined: Tue 25 Dec 2012 12:53
Contact:

Re: [Release] Wargame modding suite | v0.8.2 Pre-Release

Postby naizarak » Sat 31 May 2014 01:03

are there any meaningful .xyz files besides the one for unit classes?

User avatar
enohka
Second-Lieutenant
Posts: 928
Joined: Sun 21 Oct 2012 04:25
Location: HEAP
Contact:

Re: [Release] Wargame modding suite | v0.8.2 Pre-Release

Postby enohka » Sat 31 May 2014 01:21

I'm not sure, there arent much of them left in RD.. but the unit classes script is the reason we "cant" add units from scratch

Resident Mario
Sergeant
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri 22 Aug 2014 04:14
Contact:

Re: [Release] Wargame modding suite | v0.8.2 Pre-Release

Postby Resident Mario » Sat 23 Aug 2014 07:13

I used this tool to checkout some of the game's hidden fun stuff. Massive thanks for writing it! Here's the related thread: viewtopic.php?f=155&t=47828. I'm trying to compile a master document for game mechanics alongside an air-to-air simulator script, help would be appreciated.

Groth
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 9 Dec 2011 20:45
Contact:

Re: [Release] Wargame modding suite | v0.8.2 Pre-Release

Postby Groth » Tue 26 Aug 2014 15:47

Is there a chance that there will be ever somewhat real map editing/creation ?

User avatar
The W:AB Noob
Lieutenant General
Posts: 4564
Joined: Fri 12 Jul 2013 22:29
Location: United States, Central Time Zone
Contact:

Re: [Release] Wargame modding suite | v0.8.2 Pre-Release

Postby The W:AB Noob » Tue 26 Aug 2014 23:38

Groth wrote:Is there a chance that there will be ever somewhat real map editing/creation ?

Well I think enohka and Hob_Gadlin are working on map editing, but as far as I can tell, it is going to be very very hard to make an easy map editor. I did hear that there are a few things that we can still mod though:
viewtopic.php?f=187&t=46301&p=650662#p650390
W:RD Sandbox Mod 5.4.2, the Final and Ultimate Patch Click -> Image

Resident Mario
Sergeant
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri 22 Aug 2014 04:14
Contact:

Re: [Release] Wargame modding suite | v0.8.2 Pre-Release

Postby Resident Mario » Sun 31 Aug 2014 05:26

Here's an early draft of the master document I was talking about earlier: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-vLiga ... VkdGxFVGM/.

It's been stickied to the Gameplay subforum.

All improvements and suggestions welcome.

Pyro
Sergeant First-Class
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon 1 Sep 2014 23:56
Contact:

Re: [Release] Wargame modding suite | v0.8.2 Pre-Release

Postby Pyro » Fri 26 Sep 2014 21:48

Possible bug in dictionary - unable to refer to new entries added to dictionary

Not sure if this is a bug or maybe I am doing something wrong... here's what I do:

Open a dictionary file - unites for this example.
Go down to bottom and look at one of the last entries - CENTURION Mk.11. Copy the hash.
Go to 86: 8668 in everything.ndf - this is a Chieftain Mk.10 unit.
Paste in the hash into NameInMenuToken. Now the Chietain's name points to the Centurion hash.
Run game. Name changes as expected, now CENTURION Mk.11 appears on a Chieftain tank - no problems.

Go back to unites dictionary.
Press add new entry button. A new entry appears in second last row. It comes up with a new hash automatically.
Edit Value in the new entry to "test whatever"
Save dictionary. Run game.
Now there is no label - it's as if the game cannot see the new entry in the dictionary at all.

Reopen unites dictionary.
Add a new entry as before.
This time, select "calculate new hash" button as well.
Save dictionary. Run game.
Now there is no label - it's as if the game cannot see the new entry in the dictionary at all.

Try to change other hash labels to replicate the problem.
Changed hash in 101: 17506: 610 (TypeUnitModule for Chieftain) - this points to the label that appears at the bottom of the screen when you select a unit.
Changed hash in 128: 38446: 738 (LabelModule for CompanyUnit for Chieftain) - this points to the label that appears on the grouping of 1, 2, 3 or 4 individual Chieftains.
In both cases if I pointed to a hash that already existed in the dictionary - eg CENTURION Mk.11 - I could get the new label to appear. If I created and then pointed to a new dictionary entry, then nothing appears.

Used Wargame Mod Installer by Vasto to add new dictionary entries.
New entries can be seen in dictionary after installer runs.
However, once again the game cannot see the new entries.
I believe that Wargame Mod Installer by Vasto uses the same methodology to add new dictionary names, so I wanted to see if it was also affected by the bug - it is.

Other

I'm using v0.8.2 of the modding suite
I'm modding Wargame: Airland Battle latest release (1621 is displayed in small font on opening screen)
I'm changing the latest ZZ_Win.dat file that contains "pc\localisation\us\localisation\unites.dic" which is in folder "Data\wargame\PC\2100001553\2100001570"

Would really like this fixed (or told what I am doing wrong) as I want to add some new entries to the unites dictionary.

BoTD
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 3 Aug 2015 07:02
Contact:

Re: [Release] Wargame modding suite | v0.8.2 Pre-Release

Postby BoTD » Mon 3 Aug 2015 07:35

Hello Enohka
i just downloaded modding suite 0.8.2 and when i tried to run it i got "it is not valid win32 application" error
can you help me with this issue ?
thanks

User avatar
The W:AB Noob
Lieutenant General
Posts: 4564
Joined: Fri 12 Jul 2013 22:29
Location: United States, Central Time Zone
Contact:

Re: [Release] Wargame modding suite | v0.8.2 Pre-Release

Postby The W:AB Noob » Mon 3 Aug 2015 16:13

I haven't heard of an error like this. There are two possible solutions that come to mind:
Run as administrator
Run this program in compatibility mode for Windows XP

I didn't develop the WMS, so I'm not exactly sure what the problem is.
W:RD Sandbox Mod 5.4.2, the Final and Ultimate Patch Click -> Image

BoTD
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 3 Aug 2015 07:02
Contact:

Re: [Release] Wargame modding suite | v0.8.2 Pre-Release

Postby BoTD » Tue 4 Aug 2015 09:59

Thanks for the suggestions but i am still having issues
do i need to download something else beside 0.8.2 archive ?

Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 3xANikolai and 6 guests