[Sound modding Release] WMS / Wargame modding suite | 0.8.6

User avatar
HrcAk47
Colonel
Posts: 2788
Joined: Sat 3 May 2014 18:00
Contact:

Re: [Sound modding Release] WMS / Wargame modding suite | 0.8.5

Postby HrcAk47 » Sat 4 Feb 2017 19:56

enohka wrote:I will release a patch for this problem in the next 30 minutes. Sorry for the inconvenience!



Thank you very much for making this tool... and modding of Wargame possible at all :D
The SEAD never bothered me anyway.

SMB Yugoslavia Retexture Mod, now released, v.1.0

User avatar
enohka
Second-Lieutenant
Posts: 928
Joined: Sun 21 Oct 2012 04:25
Location: HEAP
Contact:

Re: [Sound modding Release] WMS / Wargame modding suite | 0.8.6

Postby enohka » Sat 4 Feb 2017 21:45

Hotfix 0.8.6 is out. Please let me know if your problems are still here.

Changelog from 0.8.5 to the current 0.8.6
  • Hotfix with explaining Setup screen at first startup to specify valid paths for Workspace and Gamespace.
  • You can now open all Folders in Work- and Gamespace in Windows Explorer via contextmenu

User avatar
Azaz3l
Brigadier
Posts: 3295
Joined: Sat 1 Oct 2011 10:38
Location: Bus 410
Contact:

Re: [Sound modding Release] WMS / Wargame modding suite | 0.8.6

Postby Azaz3l » Sat 4 Feb 2017 22:08

enohka wrote:Hotfix 0.8.6 is out. Please let me know if your problems are still here.

Changelog from 0.8.5 to the current 0.8.6
  • Hotfix with explaining Setup screen at first startup to specify valid paths for Workspace and Gamespace.
  • You can now open all Folders in Work- and Gamespace in Windows Explorer via contextmenu

All is working now, thank you very much
Image

User avatar
HrcAk47
Colonel
Posts: 2788
Joined: Sat 3 May 2014 18:00
Contact:

Re: [Sound modding Release] WMS / Wargame modding suite | 0.8.6

Postby HrcAk47 » Sat 4 Feb 2017 22:12

Azaz3l wrote:
enohka wrote:Hotfix 0.8.6 is out. Please let me know if your problems are still here.

Changelog from 0.8.5 to the current 0.8.6
  • Hotfix with explaining Setup screen at first startup to specify valid paths for Workspace and Gamespace.
  • You can now open all Folders in Work- and Gamespace in Windows Explorer via contextmenu

All is working now, thank you very much


can confirm, thank you!
The SEAD never bothered me anyway.

SMB Yugoslavia Retexture Mod, now released, v.1.0

User avatar
Azaz3l
Brigadier
Posts: 3295
Joined: Sat 1 Oct 2011 10:38
Location: Bus 410
Contact:

Re: [Sound modding Release] WMS / Wargame modding suite | 0.8.6

Postby Azaz3l » Sat 4 Feb 2017 23:34

Hmm I seem to be unable to make replaced sounds to work.

I figured out that all game sounds are stored in \Data\WARGAME\PC\430000210\ZZ_1.dat and they're in .ess format. Tool exports them in .wav with 44100 Hz playback rate. I tried converting my custom sounds I had to the same frequency and replacing the game ones with the tool but when I go ingame they would sound weird (a strange noise) and then shortly the game would crash.

Anyone figured out?
Image

User avatar
enohka
Second-Lieutenant
Posts: 928
Joined: Sun 21 Oct 2012 04:25
Location: HEAP
Contact:

Re: [Sound modding Release] WMS / Wargame modding suite | 0.8.6

Postby enohka » Sun 5 Feb 2017 00:09

Azaz3l wrote:Hmm I seem to be unable to make replaced sounds to work.

I figured out that all game sounds are stored in \Data\WARGAME\PC\430000210\ZZ_1.dat and they're in .ess format. Tool exports them in .wav with 44100 Hz playback rate. I tried converting my custom sounds I had to the same frequency and replacing the game ones with the tool but when I go ingame they would sound weird (a strange noise) and then shortly the game would crash.

Anyone figured out?


you'd have to give me a few examples to test this through. The main Problem here is, that ID Daemon wrote the ess codec. I'd have to pass them the files which don't work and hope he is willing to fix the codec!

User avatar
The W:AB Noob
Lieutenant General
Posts: 4564
Joined: Fri 12 Jul 2013 22:29
Location: United States, Central Time Zone
Contact:

Re: [Sound modding Release] WMS / Wargame modding suite | 0.8.6

Postby The W:AB Noob » Sun 5 Feb 2017 20:32

Azaz3l wrote:Hmm I seem to be unable to make replaced sounds to work.

I figured out that all game sounds are stored in \Data\WARGAME\PC\430000210\ZZ_1.dat and they're in .ess format. Tool exports them in .wav with 44100 Hz playback rate. I tried converting my custom sounds I had to the same frequency and replacing the game ones with the tool but when I go ingame they would sound weird (a strange noise) and then shortly the game would crash.

Anyone figured out?

First, not ALL sounds are in 210, the voices of the new countries are in other patches.

Second, Are you replacing voices, FX, or music? Music requires a stereo encode, which I don't think we have.
W:RD Sandbox Mod 5.4.2, the Final and Ultimate Patch Click -> Image

User avatar
Azaz3l
Brigadier
Posts: 3295
Joined: Sat 1 Oct 2011 10:38
Location: Bus 410
Contact:

Re: [Sound modding Release] WMS / Wargame modding suite | 0.8.6

Postby Azaz3l » Sun 5 Feb 2017 23:23

The W:AB Noob wrote:First, not ALL sounds are in 210, the voices of the new countries are in other patches.

Second, Are you replacing voices, FX, or music? Music requires a stereo encode, which I don't think we have.

Figured the first one out.

I was trying to replace USSR tank voices which should be named tankattack1_urss.ess etc. The game seems to crash when I do that. Having the same issue as him viewtopic.php?f=187&t=59345#p1020615 btw.
Image

User avatar
The W:AB Noob
Lieutenant General
Posts: 4564
Joined: Fri 12 Jul 2013 22:29
Location: United States, Central Time Zone
Contact:

Re: [Sound modding Release] WMS / Wargame modding suite | 0.8.6

Postby The W:AB Noob » Mon 6 Feb 2017 01:21

I know I got it to work before the encode was integrated into the modding suite...
W:RD Sandbox Mod 5.4.2, the Final and Ultimate Patch Click -> Image

User avatar
Azaz3l
Brigadier
Posts: 3295
Joined: Sat 1 Oct 2011 10:38
Location: Bus 410
Contact:

Re: [Sound modding Release] WMS / Wargame modding suite | 0.8.6

Postby Azaz3l » Wed 8 Feb 2017 13:22

Sound replacing still doesn't seem to work for me. What I tried this time:

-extracting default game voice file (didn't touch it anyhow)
-replacing another voice file with the extracted sound

Game still plays the replaced sound as a weird noise and then shortly after crashes.
Image

Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests