Modding Issues and Questions

3xANikolai
Specialist
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat 20 Jul 2019 20:58
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby 3xANikolai » Sat 3 Aug 2019 08:40

As for the ZZ_Win, the latest one is in the folder 510061340, then sub-folder 510064564, however upon opening, there was nothing in it. So therefor I had gone to second in line which was 510060540, then sub-folder 510061340. Which I had altered the names there.

A side note based on my understanding...
T-72BV is not a proper designation. All T-72B were designed with ERA in mind (notice the repositioned smoke dischargers). The only instance of a T-72B not having ERA was during a parade in 1985, but those would have been fitted with ERA before being activated. T-72BM, as I understand, is another case like this. It is still a T-72B, just with Kontakt-5, making it the obr. 1989.


Sadly I know that it was not the proper designation, however with Kontakt-1 ERA, I believe it should have V (Vzryvnoi = explosive) in the name. Tanks in the CCCP as you may already know usually had Obr then year, to resemble any production + upgrades (exception of big model changes like T-72A then to the T-72B). If we look at the T-64BV we have ingame, Eugen has given us the T-64BV Obr 1988 with 9M128 Agona ATGM (Which was in service in 1988) rather than the Obr 1985 with Kobra (In reality there was better version of Kobra I believe at that time period which would of likely been 9M112M2.

But back to name changes, it was soon as I touched the Japanese vehicles, in particular renaming the Japanese tanks to Type 61, 74, 90 etc. Is when I got the errors upon starting the game. Also once I had changed the names of the vehicles, they were not shown in the NDF_Win file, where the units main statistics are (Class 81 I think it is or whatever its called).

User avatar
Sireyn
First Sergeant
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat 5 Jan 2013 06:57
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby Sireyn » Sat 3 Aug 2019 18:30

3xANikolai wrote:But back to name changes, it was soon as I touched the Japanese vehicles, in particular renaming the Japanese tanks to Type 61, 74, 90 etc. Is when I got the errors upon starting the game. Also once I had changed the names of the vehicles, they were not shown in the NDF_Win file, where the units main statistics are (Class 81 I think it is or whatever its called).


The NDF_Win does not reflect the plain text name changes. The NDF uses the localization hashes to point to a plain text based on your language selection. There are three locations with these hashes. Two are called NameInMenuToken, one on the main class 81 page and one within the TypeUnit module. The final is the CompanyName within the CompanyUnit > Modules > Label. Normally there is no need to change the hashes directly; instead just edit the latest ZZ_Win.

The AliasName and ClassNameForDebug are for the engine, not the user interface.

3xANikolai
Specialist
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat 20 Jul 2019 20:58
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby 3xANikolai » Sun 18 Aug 2019 17:44

Its been a long time before I have actually modded the game, currently writing out all the unit statistics to eventually assist me with my upcoming Mod. However even then I have more unanswered questions.

So lets just say I was going to give the T-90 ECM, giving the TANK ECM removes the SIZE statistic from menu. Is there any way I would be able to expand the unit stats in the menu, for example adding in a separate statistic under (Speed, Autonomy and Prototype)? Or even extra information of the gun statistics?

User avatar
Sireyn
First Sergeant
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat 5 Jan 2013 06:57
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby Sireyn » Mon 19 Aug 2019 22:29

3xANikolai wrote:Its been a long time before I have actually modded the game, currently writing out all the unit statistics to eventually assist me with my upcoming Mod. However even then I have more unanswered questions.

So lets just say I was going to give the T-90 ECM, giving the TANK ECM removes the SIZE statistic from menu. Is there any way I would be able to expand the unit stats in the menu, for example adding in a separate statistic under (Speed, Autonomy and Prototype)? Or even extra information of the gun statistics?


Within the TypeUnit module you will see UnitInfoJaugeType, which allows you to assign one of the presets. Null is default, 1 is infantry, 4 is aircraft, etc. This only changes the compact statistics at the bottom of the card. As far as I know, ECM will always displays over size, though both function exactly the same.

3xANikolai
Specialist
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat 20 Jul 2019 20:58
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby 3xANikolai » Sun 25 Aug 2019 16:20

Would someone please direct me to a guide that shows what I would need to do to bring back depricated units? I keep getting an error on starting up the game, and I know its due to the fact that I have missed something.

Speaking of DEPREC units, do they all have working models that can actually be used? It would be interesting to bring the Mi40 to life if possible.

Also I know for a fact that DEPREC units are not used at all in the game however there are a few units in 81 TUniteAuSolDescripter that do not have a production year, is there a reason why? From my understanding those that have an alias name but no production year seem to be ingame but under a different instance, like Fuchs Fufu of West Germany for example. If these units play no role at all within the game, can they be replaced as different units for actual use?

User avatar
Sireyn
First Sergeant
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat 5 Jan 2013 06:57
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby Sireyn » Tue 27 Aug 2019 19:29

3xANikolai wrote:Would someone please direct me to a guide that shows what I would need to do to bring back depricated units? I keep getting an error on starting up the game, and I know its due to the fact that I have missed something.

Speaking of DEPREC units, do they all have working models that can actually be used? It would be interesting to bring the Mi40 to life if possible.

Also I know for a fact that DEPREC units are not used at all in the game however there are a few units in 81 TUniteAuSolDescripter that do not have a production year, is there a reason why? From my understanding those that have an alias name but no production year seem to be ingame but under a different instance, like Fuchs Fufu of West Germany for example. If these units play no role at all within the game, can they be replaced as different units for actual use?


I don't know of a guide that walks through the process of turning these units into functional ones. It is extensive and different for each unit depending on what you are turning it into. Start by finding a comparable unit to the one you want to make, then make identical copies of the modules and data to your DEPREC unit. Once the unit is an exact copy, you can tweak it how you like. I could attempt to write a guide if you feel like you need it, but it would be very tedious.

DEPREC units can be turned into whatever unit you want, as any other unit can. Not every unused units has DEPREC in the name, but they may be missing intro dates, but they all have the ShowInMenu set to false. Some do have working models, but they are usually unpolished. There is a T-55 with a bright red dot painted on the rangefinder, an AH-1 with sidewinders painted matte brown on the model, and other examples.

3xANikolai
Specialist
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat 20 Jul 2019 20:58
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby 3xANikolai » Wed 28 Aug 2019 12:22

Well the vehicle I first planned to bring back was the T-55AM1 for CCCP, considering that it was only Deprec, majority of the stats were already there for me, except they seem to be old statistics. So all I had done was copy data from T-55AM from CCCP with backup data of the T-55AM1B from DDR.

I had done most changes for the modules and other areas concerning Class 81 TUniteAuSolDescripter, and ROUGHLY checking over other areas within everything.ndfbin. Other than that I did nothing else. In saying that, I may have unnoticeably missed areas within Class 81 that may have caused the error as well.

My main problem is that I dont know the exact folders or classes that need to be altered, and considering that this was just bringing the tank back to life, I had problems with just this. Once it gets to different unit conversions as a whole, its a little more complex I imagine.

All I know for now for bringing DEPREC units back to life is that class(es)/file(s) that need to be altered is:
Class 81 TUniteAuSolDescripter
ZZ_Win (for unit name)
Classes around 350ish that relate to deck and nations (Units for which faction, PACT or NATO)

And I cant remember if I did any others or not.

User avatar
Sireyn
First Sergeant
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat 5 Jan 2013 06:57
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby Sireyn » Wed 28 Aug 2019 19:48

3xANikolai wrote:Well the vehicle I first planned to bring back was the T-55AM1 for CCCP, considering that it was only Deprec, majority of the stats were already there for me, except they seem to be old statistics. So all I had done was copy data from T-55AM from CCCP with backup data of the T-55AM1B from DDR.

I had done most changes for the modules and other areas concerning Class 81 TUniteAuSolDescripter, and ROUGHLY checking over other areas within everything.ndfbin. Other than that I did nothing else. In saying that, I may have unnoticeably missed areas within Class 81 that may have caused the error as well.

My main problem is that I dont know the exact folders or classes that need to be altered, and considering that this was just bringing the tank back to life, I had problems with just this. Once it gets to different unit conversions as a whole, its a little more complex I imagine.

And I cant remember if I did any others or not.


The TypeUnit, CompanyUnit, ApparenceModel/GroupeCombat, and WeaponManager modules should be unique to every unit. You can copy the reference number of other modules unless you want them to be unique. Be very meticulous when you compare, because one minor mistake can break the unit.

There is no need to edit 362 : TShowRoomDeckSerializer unless you are changing a unit from Bluefor to Redfor, or vice versa.

On the unit's Class 81 : TUniteAuSol page, you should make sure all of the data is correct, the ShowInMenu is set to true, and that UpgradeRequire is either empty or points to a unit that is valid.

When you build the TypeUnit, be very careful to input the data in each category correctly. Each Filter is a Map > Int32 / List and you must fill in the Int32 with 1,2,3,4.
Image

When you edit the ApparenceModel, make sure you have the correct references under Actions and that each item is linked to the correct part of the model. You must open each item to see the window pop up.
Image

3xANikolai
Specialist
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat 20 Jul 2019 20:58
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby 3xANikolai » Fri 30 Aug 2019 20:45

Thank you so much, I finally managed to introduce a so called 'new' unit into the game without any errors upon start up.

3xANikolai
Specialist
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat 20 Jul 2019 20:58
Contact:

Re: Modding Issues and Questions

Postby 3xANikolai » Thu 5 Sep 2019 05:02

Production Price.PNG
Production Price.PNG (76.21 KiB) Viewed 43 times


Would you happen to know what these values mean (the ones within the Red Square)? The top value is obviously the cost for us players in order for us to purchase the unit, however the rest im not sure of, does it have anything to do with the 4 AI's difficulty cost of this particular unit?

Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests