Hosted vServers?

User avatar
ch3cooh
Colonel
Posts: 2617
Joined: Thu 24 Jan 2013 14:00
Contact:

Hosted vServers?

Postby ch3cooh » Tue 17 Jun 2014 11:58

I have cable Internet and shared external IPs, so I can't effectively forward ports.

Will the ports work on rented vServers and can you recommend an affordable host?

ccrraaiigg007
Corporal
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013 17:55
Contact:

Re: Hosted vServers?

Postby ccrraaiigg007 » Tue 17 Jun 2014 19:22

This is my exact hosting plan that i run 5 wargame servers on. http://lowendbox.com/blog/provisionhost ... to-canada/

User avatar
ch3cooh
Colonel
Posts: 2617
Joined: Thu 24 Jan 2013 14:00
Contact:

Re: Hosted vServers?

Postby ch3cooh » Tue 17 Jun 2014 20:50

ccrraaiigg007 wrote:This is my exact hosting plan that i run 5 wargame servers on. http://lowendbox.com/blog/provisionhost ... to-canada/


Thx for the advice!
Got 125ms at that Toronto Server eventhough I am in Germany.
Seems to have a good Connection.

User avatar
GeneralWolf
Corporal
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed 14 May 2014 13:47
Contact:

Re: Hosted vServers?

Postby GeneralWolf » Wed 18 Jun 2014 08:08

ch3cooh wrote:I have cable Internet and shared external IPs, so I can't effectively forward ports.
Sounds like you have the provider "KabelDeutschland"?
If thats the case, you have the possibility to change the settings, and put the cabel modem into "bridge mode". After that, you can just use a router and have portforwarding.

I know this, because I had to do it, too :D

But I'm not going to lie, it was an effort to get everything running :roll:
German streaming:
http://www.twitch.tv/Generalwolf88
German Youtube channel with casts and strategy analyses:
https://www.youtube.com/user/GeneralWolf88

The 88 is btw my birth year and only chosen, if GeneralWolf already is taken ;)

User avatar
ch3cooh
Colonel
Posts: 2617
Joined: Thu 24 Jan 2013 14:00
Contact:

Re: Hosted vServers?

Postby ch3cooh » Wed 18 Jun 2014 11:24

Unitymedia. ;)
I already got access to the modem they supplied, but changing it to bridged won't change the fact, that it has an IPv6 connection to Unitymedia, where it shares an external IPv4 with others.

User avatar
GeneralWolf
Corporal
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed 14 May 2014 13:47
Contact:

Re: Hosted vServers?

Postby GeneralWolf » Thu 19 Jun 2014 12:02

ch3cooh wrote:Unitymedia. ;)
I already got access to the modem they supplied, but changing it to bridged won't change the fact, that it has an IPv6 connection to Unitymedia, where it shares an external IPv4 with others.
Oh, ok, nevermind.
With KabelDeutschland you gladly lose the "IPv6/IPv4"-Mashup after turning bridge mode on...
German streaming:
http://www.twitch.tv/Generalwolf88
German Youtube channel with casts and strategy analyses:
https://www.youtube.com/user/GeneralWolf88

The 88 is btw my birth year and only chosen, if GeneralWolf already is taken ;)

Return to “Dedicated Server”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests