[Suggestion] Improve late game performance

Gravitonia
Private First-Class

[Suggestion] Improve late game performance

Postby Gravitonia » Fri 11 Dec 2015 00:40

We all love our large scale battles with massive armies clashing into each other. With AOA, that means the game will come to a complete and utter crawl, and the fun dies away. Ideally, engine performance should be improved, but being an aspiring game developer myself, I know this is very hard and probably means a total restructure of the engine. To work with what we got, I suggest two different solutions to this.

Alternative 1: Supply Cap

How to implement:
- All structures, units and upgrades have a supply cost attached to them.
- The supply cost should be based on cost.
- Since the cost is already balanced, it's a matter of applying that factor to supply cost.
- A simple approach would be, 1 supply cost for each 100 oil, 1.5 supply cost for each 100 aluminum and 2 supply costs for each 100 rare earth.
- Example: 1 fully upgraded MG nest would cost 750 oil * 0.01 + 500 aluminum * 0.015 + 500 aluminum * 0.015 = 22.5 supply.
- Units can be sold to recover some of their cost just like the supply vehicles work now and free up the supply taken.
- The supply cap should be very high so it's not something a normal game would run into, but those 6 or 8 player games that run for more than 45 minutes have a major issue right now with performance.

Alternative 2: No automatic generation of resources.

How to implement:
- No income generation structures including the HQ's.
- Banks are fine because they run out of resources.
- POWs can only be sold to generate income. Each faction has the same system. For example 1 POW sold gives 2000 oil or 1000 alu or 250 rare earth. Oil upfront at capture should still be there like now.
- Add more resources to each mining patch, say 50% more. US deep mining effect must be reduced to say 50% extra value per patch instead of 100% like now.