Uploading mod to steam workshop

Hulor
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon 10 Apr 2017 15:25
Contact:

Re: Uploading mod to steam workshop

Postby Hulor » Mon 24 Apr 2017 16:14

So you have your ModTest in SteelDivision/Mods/ModTest/, SavedGames/SteelDivision/mod/ModTest/ and in your config file the name is ModTest? Can you make sure those 3 names are still the same please?

User avatar
Gronank
Colonel
Posts: 2511
Joined: Tue 8 Nov 2011 23:40
Contact:

Re: Uploading mod to steam workshop

Postby Gronank » Mon 24 Apr 2017 16:37

It is \steamapps\common\Steel Division\Mods\TestMod, Saved Games\EugenSystems\SteelDivision\mod\TestMod and "Name = TestMod" in the config-file located in the folder Saved Games\EugenSystems\SteelDivision\mod\TestMod.
Image

naizarak
Captain
Posts: 1626
Joined: Tue 25 Dec 2012 12:53
Contact:

Re: Uploading mod to steam workshop

Postby naizarak » Mon 24 Apr 2017 16:47

is your config file encoded in utf-8 using unix EOL?

User avatar
Gronank
Colonel
Posts: 2511
Joined: Tue 8 Nov 2011 23:40
Contact:

Re: Uploading mod to steam workshop

Postby Gronank » Mon 24 Apr 2017 16:54

I don't know, but when I save it, it says Utf-8 and when I open the file in Notepad, there's no line breaks. So I'm going to guess yes, I have Utf-8 with Linux eof
Image

Hulor
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon 10 Apr 2017 15:25
Contact:

Re: Uploading mod to steam workshop

Postby Hulor » Mon 24 Apr 2017 17:10

Can you check your end of line character please, it seems that CR (aka mac) endline character is not supported by our system. Otherwise, can you please send me your config file that way I can use it to find what's going on?

User avatar
Gronank
Colonel
Posts: 2511
Joined: Tue 8 Nov 2011 23:40
Contact:

Re: Uploading mod to steam workshop

Postby Gronank » Mon 24 Apr 2017 17:21

I don't know how to check line endings. My config file is here:https://www.dropbox.com/s/9yx2f719uq20pqg/Config.ini?dl=0
Image

MrCrisps
Corporal
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed 19 Apr 2017 20:15
Contact:

Re: Uploading mod to steam workshop

Postby MrCrisps » Mon 24 Apr 2017 20:21

I've uploaded my own mod (Storm in the West '44) and I had the same issue as you in the first place.

I've then tried to delete the commentaries about how to make it work that were in it. It worked properly after that.

Hope it will work for you.

User avatar
Gronank
Colonel
Posts: 2511
Joined: Tue 8 Nov 2011 23:40
Contact:

Re: Uploading mod to steam workshop

Postby Gronank » Mon 24 Apr 2017 20:33

You mean the readme and the reference pdf? I tried deleting them, still no luck
Image

User avatar
Gronank
Colonel
Posts: 2511
Joined: Tue 8 Nov 2011 23:40
Contact:

Re: Uploading mod to steam workshop

Postby Gronank » Tue 25 Apr 2017 02:38

I successfully managed to upload a mod by running the upload script in an console with administrator privileges, if anyone encounters a similar problem.
Image

Hulor
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon 10 Apr 2017 15:25
Contact:

Re: Uploading mod to steam workshop

Postby Hulor » Tue 25 Apr 2017 10:04

In fact, it's due to steam being run with admin privilege, you have 3 possibilities to fix that :
- stop running steam with admin privilege.
- setup ModGen.exe to run with the same privilege (right click > properties > compatibility > run this program as administrator).
- launch an admin command prompt in your mod folder and then launch UploadMod.bat.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest