Custom units

Guardsman111
Private First-Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue 30 May 2017 00:51
Contact:

Custom units

Postby Guardsman111 » Tue 6 Jun 2017 15:10

Has anyone figured out how to add custom units yet? If so, how?

novin997
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun 28 May 2017 17:13
Contact:

Re: Custom units

Postby novin997 » Wed 7 Jun 2017 15:02

Do you mean creating new units pack or adding custom unit models into the game?

Guardsman111
Private First-Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue 30 May 2017 00:51
Contact:

Re: Custom units

Postby Guardsman111 » Mon 19 Jun 2017 15:36

New unit packs, i.e. a Sherman variant with camouflage instead of plain green.

Sandiford
Corporal
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu 8 Dec 2016 19:54
Contact:

Re: Custom units

Postby Sandiford » Fri 23 Jun 2017 20:40

To create a new pack

1) Create a copy of an existing pack in pack.ndf

2) Change the name to something unique (and easy to understand)

3) Change the GUID to a unique reference. GUIDs are hexadecimal (base 16) numbers that are represented by 0-f, they can be made up of 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 a b c d e f - that means don't use any characters other than those, no Gs!
I find that just adding or taking away 1 from the previous GUID works without problems so far, so 0001 can become 0002 etc. It'll tell you if you have any conflicts when generating

4) Add a reference to the new pack in DeckSerializer.ndf. It can just be added to the end. make sure it has a unique ID.
Saving a deck that contains a pack not listed in DeckSerailizer.ndf causes a crash, so if you're crashing here this is why.
5) Obviously, you now have to add the new pack to Divisions.ndf, use the MULTI divisions




To create new units

1) Copy an existing unit

2) Give it a unique name

3) Give it a unique GUID - see above

4) Add a reference to your new unit in Gameplay\Gfx\Generated\AllUnits.ndf

5) Go to GameData\Gameplay\Gfx\Generated\ShowRoomEquivalence.ndf and add a reference for your new unit. Either reference an existing ShowRoomUnit or create a new one for your new unit
a) To create a new showroom unit go to GameData\Gameplay\Gfx\Generated\ShowRoomUnits.ndf

6) Open GameData\Gameplay\Gfx\Generated\DependencyHelper.ndf and search for the name of the unit you copied e.g. Descriptor_Unit_Churchill_IV_Command. Add a reference to your new unit in all the same places
a) The first reference looks like this: ( Descriptor_Unit_Churchill_IV, "OnProduction_Churchill_IV" ),
I'm not sure what this does yet, so you mean want to keep the new unit referencing the old OnProduction e.g.
( Descriptor_Unit_Churchill_IV_New, "OnProduction_Churchill_IV" ),
b) The other reference are just a question of entering the new unit. These seem to do things like specify which units can surrender, and various other things

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests