Misc issues and observations

User avatar
varis
Brigadier
Posts: 3349
Joined: Mon 20 Feb 2012 16:52
Location: Finland
Contact:

Misc issues and observations

Postby varis » Sun 2 Jun 2019 14:05

In skirmish lobby, battlegroup selection for enemy AI is disabled. Locked to premade Axis battlegroup.
Image

User avatar
[EUG]MadMat
More than 10 000 messages. Soldier you are the leader of all armies!
Posts: 15270
Joined: Thu 30 Jun 2011 13:31
Location: Paris, France.
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby [EUG]MadMat » Sun 2 Jun 2019 18:22

Thanks, we'll investigate that.

User avatar
varis
Brigadier
Posts: 3349
Joined: Mon 20 Feb 2012 16:52
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby varis » Mon 3 Jun 2019 00:06

[EUG]MadMat wrote:Thanks, we'll investigate that.


Maybe there is no need - ask any dev, this is probably working as intended - I don't have any user created battlegroups for Axis. For Allied, I have 1 at the moment and that gives me 3 more options in the menu then :D

My suggestion could be to allow the player/lobby owner to select from the premade battlegroups for the AI. But I'm not sure if players really need that - eventually everyone would have x number of custom battlegroups, so it'd be low priority for now. Also the pull-down menu would be too long. I'll double-check you can select from those but I'd expect that...

Maybe the pull-down menu needs to be customizable. Or battlegroups need to have a folder hierarchy. We would have needed that stuff for Red Dragon...
Image

User avatar
Mike
More than 10 000 messages. Soldier you are the leader of all armies!
Posts: 12406
Joined: Thu 20 Feb 2014 01:09
Location: Virginia, United States of America
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby Mike » Mon 3 Jun 2019 01:15

In skirmish in W:RD, you could pick the deck you wanted each AI to use.
Image
Courtesy of KattiValk

User avatar
varis
Brigadier
Posts: 3349
Joined: Mon 20 Feb 2012 16:52
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby varis » Wed 5 Jun 2019 02:52

DP 28 is listed as both "light machine gun" and "medium & heavy machine gun" (what on earth is that)

Small machine-gun -> submachine gun

Don't think I've seen much baguette language otherwise this time around :)

PS. When you make your first Axis BG, more selections appear to the menus, just as I expected above.
Image

User avatar
[EUG]MadMat
More than 10 000 messages. Soldier you are the leader of all armies!
Posts: 15270
Joined: Thu 30 Jun 2011 13:31
Location: Paris, France.
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby [EUG]MadMat » Wed 5 Jun 2019 09:27

Where is it listed as a "MMMG & HMG"? As a tank version?

User avatar
varis
Brigadier
Posts: 3349
Joined: Mon 20 Feb 2012 16:52
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby varis » Thu 6 Jun 2019 02:38

[EUG]MadMat wrote:Where is it listed as a "MMMG & HMG"? As a tank version?


Looks like a fairly major messup. Anything allied which is not 1 x DP 28 is listed as medium&heavy. Eg. Browning, Maxim, Bren... The 1 x DP 28 can be listed as light, but sometimes it's medium&heavy, too. You see it in infantry and tanks and transports. Tank tab at least seems to have a logic in it and is consistently off, but infantry is really messed up. 2 x DP 28 can be M&H but then 3 x DP 28 is a LMG...

What I gather:

7mm (esp when carried by infantry) = LMG
9mm-ish = MMG
12mm = HMG

Somebody probably has a more fine-grained classification ;)

Edit: The above is pretty much the ARMA3 way, I think they developed the caliber based fantasy because it's easier to explain to the average Steam gamer than the cooling systems and other finesse Wikipedia talks about: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Medium_machine_gun Have to continue reading :)
Image

User avatar
varis
Brigadier
Posts: 3349
Joined: Mon 20 Feb 2012 16:52
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby varis » Sun 9 Jun 2019 07:51

There should be a notification for phase change. Maybe a big one middle of the screen when it changes (could be an Option) and a small one like 1-2 minutes before.

A small notification could be useful when your side starts losing (much) more tickets.
Image

Ben_D
Specialist
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon 19 Feb 2018 11:54
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby Ben_D » Sat 15 Jun 2019 09:19

I'm not sure if what I'm posting here is relevant to this thread, but I hope so. Does anyone think that a time limit should be introduced to games as well? I seem to be have many games end through total attrition. I've literally run out of all cards/units by the game's end more times than in SD1 and W:RD combined at this point, and I have several games in both of those titles, but less than 100 in SD2 (Beta).

Ben_D
Specialist
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon 19 Feb 2018 11:54
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby Ben_D » Fri 21 Jun 2019 08:58

Filters for the lobby list don't seem to be working as intended. Eugen server lobbies with 5 bots will show up, and empty Eugen servers will also show up, even if the the "Empty Eugen Servers" filter is not checked off.

Return to “Steel Division 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest