Misc issues and observations

User avatar
varis
Brigadier
Posts: 3331
Joined: Mon 20 Feb 2012 16:52
Location: Finland
Contact:

Misc issues and observations

Postby varis » Sun 2 Jun 2019 14:05

In skirmish lobby, battlegroup selection for enemy AI is disabled. Locked to premade Axis battlegroup.
Image

User avatar
[EUG]MadMat
More than 10 000 messages. Soldier you are the leader of all armies!
Posts: 15213
Joined: Thu 30 Jun 2011 13:31
Location: Paris, France.
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby [EUG]MadMat » Sun 2 Jun 2019 18:22

Thanks, we'll investigate that.

User avatar
varis
Brigadier
Posts: 3331
Joined: Mon 20 Feb 2012 16:52
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby varis » Mon 3 Jun 2019 00:06

[EUG]MadMat wrote:Thanks, we'll investigate that.


Maybe there is no need - ask any dev, this is probably working as intended - I don't have any user created battlegroups for Axis. For Allied, I have 1 at the moment and that gives me 3 more options in the menu then :D

My suggestion could be to allow the player/lobby owner to select from the premade battlegroups for the AI. But I'm not sure if players really need that - eventually everyone would have x number of custom battlegroups, so it'd be low priority for now. Also the pull-down menu would be too long. I'll double-check you can select from those but I'd expect that...

Maybe the pull-down menu needs to be customizable. Or battlegroups need to have a folder hierarchy. We would have needed that stuff for Red Dragon...
Image

User avatar
Mike
More than 10 000 messages. Soldier you are the leader of all armies!
Posts: 12403
Joined: Thu 20 Feb 2014 01:09
Location: Virginia, United States of America
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby Mike » Mon 3 Jun 2019 01:15

In skirmish in W:RD, you could pick the deck you wanted each AI to use.
Image
Courtesy of KattiValk

User avatar
varis
Brigadier
Posts: 3331
Joined: Mon 20 Feb 2012 16:52
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby varis » Wed 5 Jun 2019 02:52

DP 28 is listed as both "light machine gun" and "medium & heavy machine gun" (what on earth is that)

Small machine-gun -> submachine gun

Don't think I've seen much baguette language otherwise this time around :)

PS. When you make your first Axis BG, more selections appear to the menus, just as I expected above.
Image

User avatar
[EUG]MadMat
More than 10 000 messages. Soldier you are the leader of all armies!
Posts: 15213
Joined: Thu 30 Jun 2011 13:31
Location: Paris, France.
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby [EUG]MadMat » Wed 5 Jun 2019 09:27

Where is it listed as a "MMMG & HMG"? As a tank version?

User avatar
varis
Brigadier
Posts: 3331
Joined: Mon 20 Feb 2012 16:52
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby varis » Thu 6 Jun 2019 02:38

[EUG]MadMat wrote:Where is it listed as a "MMMG & HMG"? As a tank version?


Looks like a fairly major messup. Anything allied which is not 1 x DP 28 is listed as medium&heavy. Eg. Browning, Maxim, Bren... The 1 x DP 28 can be listed as light, but sometimes it's medium&heavy, too. You see it in infantry and tanks and transports. Tank tab at least seems to have a logic in it and is consistently off, but infantry is really messed up. 2 x DP 28 can be M&H but then 3 x DP 28 is a LMG...

What I gather:

7mm (esp when carried by infantry) = LMG
9mm-ish = MMG
12mm = HMG

Somebody probably has a more fine-grained classification ;)

Edit: The above is pretty much the ARMA3 way, I think they developed the caliber based fantasy because it's easier to explain to the average Steam gamer than the cooling systems and other finesse Wikipedia talks about: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Medium_machine_gun Have to continue reading :)
Image

User avatar
varis
Brigadier
Posts: 3331
Joined: Mon 20 Feb 2012 16:52
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby varis » Sun 9 Jun 2019 07:51

There should be a notification for phase change. Maybe a big one middle of the screen when it changes (could be an Option) and a small one like 1-2 minutes before.

A small notification could be useful when your side starts losing (much) more tickets.
Image

Ben_D
Private First-Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon 19 Feb 2018 11:54
Contact:

Re: Misc issues and observations

Postby Ben_D » Sat 15 Jun 2019 09:19

I'm not sure if what I'm posting here is relevant to this thread, but I hope so. Does anyone think that a time limit should be introduced to games as well? I seem to be have many games end through total attrition. I've literally run out of all cards/units by the game's end more times than in SD1 and W:RD combined at this point, and I have several games in both of those titles, but less than 100 in SD2 (Beta).

Return to “Steel Division 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests