Wargame: EE crashes on Mac

AVividBlack
Specialist
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 25 Jan 2012 22:32
Contact:

Wargame: EE crashes on Mac

Postby AVividBlack » Fri 18 Jan 2013 21:16

After some help from Eugen, I did get it working!

The issue was that I had multiple languages enabled. After I disabled everything but English, the game runs as expected.
If anybody else has issues, try disabling all but one language (or, maybe only languages that Wargame: ee supports).
--- -

Original post
Spoiler : :
Wargame: EE team,

I downloaded the game on the Mac App Store, and although it runs the menu fine, when I click Options or Solo (Haven't tried multiplayer yet), the game starts to load, and then crashes. Is it just me, should I reinstall, or are others having this issue as well?

I'm using a 27" iMac from late '09
OS version 10.8.2
2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 processor
12GB 1067 MHz DDR3 memory

Would it help if I posted the Apple Crash-Log?
I hope you can get this working, but thanks for doing so much work thus far! - Gibson

-Edit-
I reinstalled, and am having the same issue. I wasn't able to click the Automatic Options Detection button before I was signed in (the you have been signed in window didn't go away, and I had to attempt a shut down to pull focus from the game), so I disabled internet and tried it again. When I clicked Yes (Automatic Options Detection), the game started loading, then crashed.
Last edited by AVividBlack on Tue 22 Jan 2013 18:54, edited 1 time in total.

ChrisJ
Sergeant First-Class
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue 21 Feb 2012 22:37
Contact:

Re: Wargame: EE crashes on Mac

Postby ChrisJ » Sat 19 Jan 2013 00:49

Until the support team gets to you, try going to the Mac equivalent of C:\Users\Profilename\Saved Games\EugenSystems\Wargame and find Option.ini

From there you can manually set your options and see if the crash happens due to an existing video setting.

ralph289
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat 19 Jan 2013 00:37
Contact:

Re: Wargame: EE crashes on Mac

Postby ralph289 » Sat 19 Jan 2013 00:53

Having the same / similar problem. Below is my post on the Steam forum.

When I let the game try to auto set video it crashes to desk top.
If I don't let it auto set up and instead click in options it crashes to desk top.
If I do nothing and try to play the game it crashes to desk top.
Permissions ok.
Restarted Computer
Re-downloaded game.

Tried the following suggestions:
0. ensure you meet the minimum requirements
1. lower your graphic settings - retry
2. Validate cache (library, right-click on-to Wargame, Properties, Local Files) - if files are missing, check if they're downloaded (steam sometimes refuses to do so ..) - retry
3. Rename appcache in your steam folder - retry
4. Delete ClientRegistry.blob in your steam folder - retry

No joy, crashes when I click on Options so no chance to change graphic settings.

On a new 27in IMac with NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2048 MB and 24 MB ram.
My best guess at this point is some incompatibility with this new to Mac graphics card.

Does anyone else with a new Mac have these issues? I realize this game is new to Mac but hoping someone has an idea to try. I'd like to play this game, at least once . :-)

No problem to find the Option.ini file but there are a lot of possible changes. I'll wait and hope tech support will respond soon.

goatmaster
Private First-Class
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu 27 Dec 2012 17:28
Contact:

Re: Wargame: EE crashes on Mac

Postby goatmaster » Sat 19 Jan 2013 02:22

09' iMacs had some video card issues, that could be the culprit but it may be a mountain lion issue. You may want to repartition your drive 50/50 , install snow leopard on the second partition and see how it works in that OS.

10.8 has been a real beast compatibility wise

AVividBlack
Specialist
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 25 Jan 2012 22:32
Contact:

Re: Wargame: EE crashes on Mac

Postby AVividBlack » Sat 19 Jan 2013 05:40

goatmaster wrote:09' iMacs had some video card issues, that could be the culprit but it may be a mountain lion issue. You may want to repartition your drive 50/50 , install snow leopard on the second partition and see how it works in that OS.

10.8 has been a real beast compatibility wise


I don't mind waiting a bit more (without doing anything), if you think there will be a fix pretty soon. Any ideas about a release date?

goatmaster
Private First-Class
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu 27 Dec 2012 17:28
Contact:

Re: Wargame: EE crashes on Mac

Postby goatmaster » Mon 21 Jan 2013 03:51

Can't say that I do unfortunately, I recommend a lot of people that come into the shop to stay with SL unless they have a specific need to upgrade higher.

User avatar
Meves
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon 21 Jan 2013 07:56
Location: rAdelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Wargame: EE crashes on Mac

Postby Meves » Mon 21 Jan 2013 08:03

I am getting freezes on my Mac Laptop as well. (I am waiting on time/having somewhere to put it, to build myself a PC again)

I am running a 2010 13" Macbook pro, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 256 MB GeForce 320M

Game loads up fine, runs a mission fine, gets through the debrief fine, but on exiting debrief it just freezes up.

Any help will be appreciated!
Image

User avatar
FocusTechSupport
Website administrator
Posts: 592
Joined: Wed 9 Nov 2011 12:18
Location: Siberia
Contact:

Re: Wargame: EE crashes on Mac

Postby FocusTechSupport » Mon 21 Jan 2013 10:10

These problems are under investigation.

We apologize for the inconvenience.
TECHNICAL SUPPORT
FOCUS INTERACTIVE TEAM

User avatar
Meves
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon 21 Jan 2013 07:56
Location: rAdelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Wargame: EE crashes on Mac

Postby Meves » Mon 21 Jan 2013 10:37

Thanks Eugen, at least I can still somewhat play the game.

Also, I am running OSX 10.6.8, and opening Wargame up through Steam
Image

User avatar
FocusTechSupport
Website administrator
Posts: 592
Joined: Wed 9 Nov 2011 12:18
Location: Siberia
Contact:

Re: Wargame: EE crashes on Mac

Postby FocusTechSupport » Mon 21 Jan 2013 11:15

AVividBlack wrote:Wargame: EE team,

I downloaded the game on the Mac App Store, and although it runs the menu fine, when I click Options or Solo (Haven't tried multiplayer yet), the game starts to load, and then crashes. Is it just me, should I reinstall, or are others having this issue as well?

I'm using a 27" iMac from late '09
OS version 10.8.2
2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 processor
12GB 1067 MHz DDR3 memory

Would it help if I posted the Apple Crash-Log?
I hope you can get this working, but thanks for doing so much work thus far! - Gibson

-Edit-
I reinstalled, and am having the same issue. I wasn't able to click the Automatic Options Detection button before I was signed in (the you have been signed in window didn't go away, and I had to attempt a shut down to pull focus from the game), so I disabled internet and tried it again. When I clicked Yes (Automatic Options Detection), the game started loading, then crashed.


Do you have an AMD or a NVIDIA graphics card? Which model?
Yes, please post your Crash Log. Thank you.
TECHNICAL SUPPORT
FOCUS INTERACTIVE TEAM

Return to “Tech Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests