BMP-1D not firing its grenade launcher (2ndary weapon bug)

LapinDuracell
Corporal
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu 5 Apr 2012 12:12
Contact:

BMP-1D not firing its grenade launcher (2ndary weapon bug)

Postby LapinDuracell » Thu 5 Apr 2012 12:16

Hi,

I've tried many times and watched some replays, it seems the Pact BMP-1D never uses its grenade launcher, even against infantry at close range. Proof is their grenade ammo always stays at 45.

Did I miss something in their correct use or is there a bug ?

Thanks !
Last edited by LapinDuracell on Thu 5 Apr 2012 23:14, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
solvens
Major
Posts: 1989
Joined: Fri 1 Jul 2011 00:56
Contact:

Re: BMP-1D not firing its grenade launcher

Postby solvens » Thu 5 Apr 2012 12:20

Mine use their grenade launchers, but i always lock the main gun before engaging infantry.
Image

LapinDuracell
Corporal
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu 5 Apr 2012 12:12
Contact:

Re: BMP-1D not firing its grenade launcher

Postby LapinDuracell » Thu 5 Apr 2012 14:17

solvens wrote:Mine use their grenade launchers, but i always lock the main gun before engaging infantry.

Indeed, by locking the main gun it works, but I don't think it should work like this. Other secondary weapons (Autocannons, MG, ATGM etc..) fire along the main gun with other units, so why not on the BMP ?

Thanks

User avatar
[EUG]MadMat
More than 10 000 messages. Soldier you are the leader of all armies!
Posts: 14979
Joined: Thu 30 Jun 2011 13:31
Location: Paris, France.
Contact:

Re: BMP-1D not firing its grenade launcher

Postby [EUG]MadMat » Thu 5 Apr 2012 16:52

We're looking into it.
Thanks for the tip.

Tigga
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 2441
Joined: Tue 5 Jul 2011 02:46
Contact:

Re: BMP-1D not firing its grenade launcher

Postby Tigga » Thu 5 Apr 2012 16:54

There's a few other things like this scattered about, and I'm never sure if they're intentional or not. Arty pieces won't direct fire, for example, unless the main cannon is disabled or out of ammo.

LapinDuracell
Corporal
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu 5 Apr 2012 12:12
Contact:

Re: BMP-1D not firing its grenade launcher

Postby LapinDuracell » Thu 5 Apr 2012 19:17

Tigga wrote:There's a few other things like this scattered about, and I'm never sure if they're intentional or not. Arty pieces won't direct fire, for example, unless the main cannon is disabled or out of ammo.


Indeed, I just made an AI test, and MTSA-1 arty isn't firing at direct gun range if the long range "version" of the weapon is enabled.

I really suspect this is a bug, AI not handling direct/indirect fire priorities or sth like this. Thankfully Eugen guy saw it, so hopefully it will be fixed. Anyway no more BMP-1D for me unless this is patched :/

Mazz
Second-Lieutenant
Posts: 751
Joined: Thu 8 Mar 2012 05:31
Contact:

Re: BMP-1D not firing its grenade launcher

Postby Mazz » Thu 5 Apr 2012 21:15

Actually, I think somewhere in one of the patches most units with multiple weapon types lost their ability to target 2 different targets. I.E. NATO tanks with autocannons cannot shoot the 20mm at an advancing APC and shoot other threats with it's main gun at the same time.

This seemed to work just fine up at release as I remember my MBT-70s doing it often, but more recently I've noticed that pretty much every vehicle with a secondary weapon type struggles to do this unless you turn off the primary.

Artillery is probably the biggest problem because it uses the same launch point and therefore never disables the main for the close-on without doing it manually.
Image

LapinDuracell
Corporal
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu 5 Apr 2012 12:12
Contact:

Re: BMP-1D not firing its grenade launcher

Postby LapinDuracell » Thu 5 Apr 2012 23:12

Well, it's strange that nobody noticed and reported it before, as it seems to seriously diminish the interest for such units.

Shouldn't we file a more appropriate bug report in some other place of the forum ?

User avatar
[EUG]MadMat
More than 10 000 messages. Soldier you are the leader of all armies!
Posts: 14979
Joined: Thu 30 Jun 2011 13:31
Location: Paris, France.
Contact:

Re: BMP-1D not firing its grenade launcher

Postby [EUG]MadMat » Thu 5 Apr 2012 23:19

LapinDuracell wrote:Shouldn't we file a more appropriate bug report in some other place of the forum ?

Not necessary in that case.
I've red the above, and I'll make sure we check that ...

User avatar
Xeno426
Carbon 13
Posts: 11928
Joined: Tue 13 Mar 2012 21:27
Location: Acheron, Hadley's Hope
Contact:

Re: BMP-1D not firing its grenade launcher (2ndary weapon bu

Postby Xeno426 » Fri 6 Apr 2012 02:09

It's nice when the devs are active community members. :)
Image
CloakandDagger wrote:And you're one of the people with the shiny colored name. No wonder the game is in the state it's in.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests