Ammo usage, Firing animation, Artillery shell travel speed.

blackhawkfalled
Specialist
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat 13 Jul 2019 18:27
Contact:

Ammo usage, Firing animation, Artillery shell travel speed.

Postby blackhawkfalled » Mon 1 Feb 2021 08:07

Hi everyone,
I'm still a noob.. And might appreciate some help if possible. Because I still can't find the solutions for those question in the current modding tutorials.
1. Consuming ammos for both weapons on a unit's turret.
I've noticed that In Wargame 1991 mod. The Radar AA missiles have a non-radar mode. In this case, firing a missile will cost both ammos for both Radar mode ammunition and non-radar mode ammunition. How to do this in modding?
2. No weapon firing animation after I've added ammunition on a turret.
For testing, I've added an ZPT90 ammunition on a ZBD-86's two axis turret. But the added autocannon doesn't have any firing animations or fire trails during operation. I think I'm missing something but what am I missing?
3. Is it possible to change MLRS's rocket, or artillery shells travel speed to change its time on target?

Thanks!

User avatar
Sireyn
Sergeant Major of the Army
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat 5 Jan 2013 06:57
Contact:

Re: Ammo usage, Firing animation, Artillery shell travel speed.

Postby Sireyn » Tue 2 Feb 2021 01:25

blackhawkfalled wrote:Hi everyone,
I'm still a noob.. And might appreciate some help if possible. Because I still can't find the solutions for those question in the current modding tutorials.
1. Consuming ammos for both weapons on a unit's turret.
I've noticed that In Wargame 1991 mod. The Radar AA missiles have a non-radar mode. In this case, firing a missile will cost both ammos for both Radar mode ammunition and non-radar mode ammunition. How to do this in modding?


This is determined in the WeaponManager module between the main WeaponManager page and the TMountedWeapon.

In Salves, the index is sorted top to bottom, with the number meaning the number of salvos available for any weapon that uses that slot.
Image

The SalvoStockIndex number starts with null (meaning 0), then 1, 2, 3, 4, etc. Different weapons that pull from the same ammo pool just use the same SalvoStockIndex/Salves. SalvoStockIndex_ForInterface is for the ingame armory's 3 panels, so you can merge weapons into the same panel here.
Image

blackhawkfalled wrote:2. No weapon firing animation after I've added ammunition on a turret.
For testing, I've added an ZPT90 ammunition on a ZBD-86's two axis turret. But the added autocannon doesn't have any firing animations or fire trails during operation. I think I'm missing something but what am I missing?



Weapon firing animations for vehicles are handled in the ApparenceModel module, under Actions. For infantry this is in the GroupeCombat module.
Image
Under Actions, TCompositeHappening (special effect + sound effect) and TSoundHappening (just sound effect) concern you. If you open one of these, you will notice a second box will appear.
Image
The weapon_effet_tag is matched with the weapon_effet_tag inside the WeaponManager's TMountedWeaponDescriptor that you had open before. Tir is the kind of action, which means "shot". The other option would be tir_c, for "shot continuous", for machine guns and autocannons. You should find another unit with the special effect you want and copy the effect over, making sure to match the weapon_effet_tag number with the WeaponManager.

blackhawkfalled wrote:3. Is it possible to change MLRS's rocket, or artillery shells travel speed to change its time on target?
Thanks!


Inside the TAmmunition, there is FX_vitesse_de_depart, which is the travel speed. This incidentally affects the ballistic arc. With a slower speed, munitions will have a higher arc, with cluster weapons finding themselves detonating higher above the ground (same damage radius, but looks wrong)

blackhawkfalled
Specialist
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat 13 Jul 2019 18:27
Contact:

Re: Ammo usage, Firing animation, Artillery shell travel speed.

Postby blackhawkfalled » Tue 2 Feb 2021 01:46

Sireyn wrote:
blackhawkfalled wrote:Inside the TAmmunition, there is FX_vitesse_de_depart, which is the travel speed. This incidentally affects the ballistic arc. With a slower speed, munitions will have a higher arc, with cluster weapons finding themselves detonating higher above the ground (same damage radius, but looks wrong)

It's very clear and fast response! You helped my day!

blackhawkfalled
Specialist
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat 13 Jul 2019 18:27
Contact:

Re: Ammo usage, Firing animation, Artillery shell travel speed.

Postby blackhawkfalled » Fri 5 Feb 2021 05:22

Sireyn wrote:Under Actions, TCompositeHappening (special effect + sound effect) and TSoundHappening (just sound effect) concern you. If you open one of these, you will notice a second box will appear.
Image
The weapon_effet_tag is matched with the weapon_effet_tag inside the WeaponManager's TMountedWeaponDescriptor that you had open before. Tir is the kind of action, which means "shot". The other option would be tir_c, for "shot continuous", for machine guns and autocannons. You should find another unit with the special effect you want and copy the effect over, making sure to match the weapon_effet_tag number with the WeaponManager.


Hi Sireyn,
I still have a few questions regarding the Actions->TCompositeHappening.
For example. I've opened the firing animations for Mi-8. Which has 4 actions with 4 different numbers on the third row. 1.2.3.4. The weapon effect tag and the tir, the composite effects are all the same.
Image
And all 4 tags are connected to the same compositeaction of rocket pod firing and sound effect.

So my question is: Is it necessary to create 4 actions related to the same effect?(In this case, rocket pod) Or it's just filling up 4 rows of actions.
In which case should I create action with different numbers on the third row. What does the number on the third row mean?
Update: I've just pasted all 4 actions on the ZBD86 and its firing rockets animation. (Just for testing) It worked!

Another question is, while I'm creating the list for the action with the tablestring variant. I find it very disturbing to find the value I want. For example. To have the value: 'tir'. I have to scroll long the very very long menu. And find the 'tir' value in the exact spot. Does the modding for the tablestring value that complex? Or there is a easier way to do so?
Thanks!

User avatar
Sireyn
Sergeant Major of the Army
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat 5 Jan 2013 06:57
Contact:

Re: Ammo usage, Firing animation, Artillery shell travel speed.

Postby Sireyn » Fri 5 Feb 2021 13:36

blackhawkfalled wrote:
Spoiler : :
Sireyn wrote:Under Actions, TCompositeHappening (special effect + sound effect) and TSoundHappening (just sound effect) concern you. If you open one of these, you will notice a second box will appear.
Image
The weapon_effet_tag is matched with the weapon_effet_tag inside the WeaponManager's TMountedWeaponDescriptor that you had open before. Tir is the kind of action, which means "shot". The other option would be tir_c, for "shot continuous", for machine guns and autocannons. You should find another unit with the special effect you want and copy the effect over, making sure to match the weapon_effet_tag number with the WeaponManager.


Hi Sireyn,
I still have a few questions regarding the Actions->TCompositeHappening.
For example. I've opened the firing animations for Mi-8. Which has 4 actions with 4 different numbers on the third row. 1.2.3.4. The weapon effect tag and the tir, the composite effects are all the same.
Image
And all 4 tags are connected to the same compositeaction of rocket pod firing and sound effect.

So my question is: Is it necessary to create 4 actions related to the same effect?(In this case, rocket pod) Or it's just filling up 4 rows of actions.
In which case should I create action with different numbers on the third row. What does the number on the third row mean?
Update: I've just pasted all 4 actions on the ZBD86 and its firing rockets animation. (Just for testing) It worked!

Another question is, while I'm creating the list for the action with the tablestring variant. I find it very disturbing to find the value I want. For example. To have the value: 'tir'. I have to scroll long the very very long menu. And find the 'tir' value in the exact spot. Does the modding for the tablestring value that complex? Or there is a easier way to do so?
Thanks!


My understanding is that the special effects stack, so you can have multiple of the same effect attached. In cases like this where a helicopter has 4 rocket pods showing on the model, you can expect to need 4 TCompositeHappenings labeled as 1,2,3,4 to make every rocket pod used. It depends on the model, where sometimes you just need 2 TCompositeHappenings for left side/right side. I would pick a unit to use as an example and adjust from there as needed.

Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests